Scrambled Screen in Yosemite

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by montegoodyk, Jan 3, 2015.

  1. montegoodyk, Jan 3, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 3, 2015

    montegoodyk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    #1
    Ever since installing Yosemite I have this screen issue quite often. [​IMG]
     
  2. Asclepio macrumors 6502a

    Asclepio

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
  3. George Dawes macrumors 6502

    George Dawes

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Location:
    Woof bark donkey
    #3
    My mac mini does a similar thing and I have to restart it to clean it up

    Yosemite really is ****
     
  4. w0lf macrumors 65816

    w0lf

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Most likely you have a bad/dying graphics card.
     
  5. Nabooly macrumors 6502a

    Nabooly

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #5
    I have a 2014 MBP 15" and it does this completely randomly after I wake up from sleep. It stays for maybe 1 or 2 seconds then goes back to normal. It doesn't happen often, more like once every 2 weeks. I have no idea what causes it. At this point I'm not worried because I have apple care but I would love to know the reason. I wish I could take a pic but I never know when it's going to happen and it doesn't stay for long enough.
     
  6. George Dawes macrumors 6502

    George Dawes

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Location:
    Woof bark donkey
    #6
    It seems to happen when I have several desktops active and am moving them around - it smacks of crappy driver s/w as it doesn't affect another mac mini i have that uses the intel iris gpu not the amd

    There's loads of threads on apple discussions regarding yosemite's video drivers being pretty awful , I'm pretty sure it's that that's causing the problem


    ( fingers crossed ) lol

    Roll on the next update ....
     
  7. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #7
    Try setting your desktop background to a solid color and see if that helps.
     
  8. George Dawes macrumors 6502

    George Dawes

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Location:
    Woof bark donkey
  9. rigormortis, Jan 4, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2015

    rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #9
    no

    ----------

    check warranty status
    https://selfsolve.apple.com/agreementWarrantyDynamic.do

    run apple diagnostics ( or apple hardware test ) depending on what year your computer came out. run an extended test
    http://support.apple.com/kb/PH14291


    apple changed "internet hardware test" and now if i try to run apple hardware test on my 2010 mac mini, i get an error that this version is no longer compatible with my mac.

    if you get that error then you need to get your original disks and hold down the D key during boot

    the disk with diagnostics will be labeled

    if you no longer have your original disks, and no way to get apple hardware test running, like if your mac is older then 2013, you can get a.h.t cds at
    https://github.com/upekkha/AppleHardwareTest

    your model identifier will be in
    about this mac
    system report
    hardware

    for example
    "MacBookPro11,1"

    ----------

    call apple care
    give them your serial #
    ask them if they have any service campaigns for your computer

    for example
    http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT203787
     
  10. George Dawes macrumors 6502

    George Dawes

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Location:
    Woof bark donkey
    #10
    Happened again last night - when using mission control - when I went to get a new desktop - the whole screen turned to mush...

    Another BUG ??
     
  11. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #11
    Not likely. Someone else would have seen it too. Did you run the hardware tests, or reinstall Yosemite?
     
  12. George Dawes macrumors 6502

    George Dawes

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Location:
    Woof bark donkey
    #12
    I just ran the test , no hardware problems found !

    I suppose I could reinstall the OS , I might just get a new mac mini and give this one to my sister :)

    The new one's run much cooler , I bought my mum one for xmas ( this one gets very hot and the fans are always kicking in ! )
     
  13. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #13
    It's a weird problem. Does it do that in other user accounts? Try that. Then I'd probably try running a fresh Yosemite from an external drive. If that's ok, I'd reinstall Yosemite on the internal.
     
  14. Pudlo, Jan 7, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2015

    Pudlo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    #14
    I have the same problem.
    Reinstallinng Yosemite won't help. It's probably graphic driver not hardware problem.
    Just install Mavericks and be happy again.
    And never again buy Apple products ;)


    ps. On rMBP not Mini;)
    ps2. Early beta was much worse (finder and preview did such things) For now only Preview i think when you switch to mission control. It just put graphic from other windows into this one.
    ps3. Or maybe installing Yosemite made smc broken?
     
  15. comatory macrumors 6502a

    comatory

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    #15
    No. Other people have been getting these. I experienced this on two 15" Macbook Pro Retinas, one is 2012 model the other late-2013 model. They start doing this after a while, doesn't matter which app i'm using, it just pops up randomly few times a day and I have to reboot to fix this.

    I'm pretty sure it's not a graphics card fault and i'm sure I have enough VRAM (one MBP has 1GB VRAM the other has 2 gigs). Funny this doesn't happen on 2009 Macbook Pro 15".

    Oh, rolling back to Mavericks fixed these problems. I'm holding out for 10.10.2 and I'm gonna try to install on external drive to see if it's fixed.
     

Share This Page