Scratch Disk, how much faster is Raid 0

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by DetroitRockCity, Sep 28, 2009.

  1. DetroitRockCity macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #1
    So I am buying two 1TB internal drives for my new mac pro. I want to run RAID, but I am debating on how to do this. I am using these drives as scratch disks for AVCHD editing in Final Cut Pro 7.

    The debate: Should I do RAID 1 or 0.
    I like the idea of backing up my scratch disk in RAID 1.
    How much faster will RAID 0 be? I have never used it for video editing.

    Also, (and this may be a question for the MacPro area but I will leave it here)
    if I do run two 1TB drives in RAID 0 mode.... would I be able to create a time machine out of them?
    That way I am running at the speed of RAID 0, and I can back up my media with time machine (basically eliminating the need of RAID 1)
     
  2. huntercr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #2
    If you use it as a time machine disk you'll negate the purpose of using it as a scratch disk. ( meaning it won't end up being any faster )

    Are you going to do Software raid0 or hardware based? I think you're going to be underhelmed. It isn't something magical.
     
  3. KeithPratt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #3
    Twice as fast. But if the media doesn't need that speed you won't see the benefit.

    I wouldn't recommend Time Machining them. You only need to back up your scratch when you add new media from your camera, so just manually back up (to another drive) when needs be.
     
  4. DetroitRockCity thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #4
    I will be editing 1080p AVCHD footage in Final Cut Pro.
    Does RAID 0 help me achieve faster rendering and exporting?
    That is all I really care about when it comes to speed.
    When I play back video and edit it, the footage is fast enough for me.

    This will be through software RAID on my Mac Pro.
     
  5. DetroitRockCity thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #5
    any advice on my last post?
    Would RAID 0 be able to achieve faster rendering/exporting with Pro Res Footage?

    If not, I am probably going to go with RAID 1 for my backup.
     
  6. Sonicjay macrumors 6502a

    Sonicjay

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #6
    RAID is NOT backup. It merely provides protection from the loss of a single hard drive. It does not backup anything. If you delete/corrupt/overwrite any of your files, so does the mirror.
     
  7. KeithPratt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #7
    No. It'll come in handy if you're working with multiple streams though.
     
  8. NickFalk macrumors 6502

    NickFalk

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    #8
    This is frankly nonsense. I have one Raid 0 set up for my boot-disk and another for my FCP scratch disk. They're both software based and come very close to twice the speed of a single HD.
     
  9. DetroitRockCity thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #9
    I think I am going to go with RAID 1.
    I know it is not backup, rather something for redundancy. If I delete the file, then it is my own fault. I want something to protect me if one of the 1TB drives decides to crap out on me.

    Thank you for the help :)
     
  10. joaoferro37 macrumors 6502

    joaoferro37

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Vogon Planet Destructor
    #10
    Few things:
    AVCHD 1080P is the raw footage, what is the codec when you capture it and what is the final product?
    How many layers?
     
  11. THX1139 macrumors 68000

    THX1139

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #11
    RAID doesn't speed up rendering. That is processor based.
     
  12. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #12
    AVCHD is much more CPU intensive than HDD intensive. If you want faster rendering and exporting don't edit w/AVCHD.


    Lethal
     

Share This Page