Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gazmoore1980

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 22, 2007
London
Hello there, i'm new to Macs and new to this Forum so forgive me if i'm posting a question that has allready been on a few times before.

Can anybody please help with regards to Scratch Disks? I have a Powerbook and i have recently transferred all my large files onto an external hard drive meaning i only have software and ITunes library left on my computer but i am still unable to run photoshop properly when trying to alter my photographs.

I have never set up scratch disks but i keep getting an error message telling me they are full and that the command can not be completed because of this.

How do i clear my scratch disks and where would they be stored on my computer???

thanks
G

Macky-Mac

macrumors 68040
May 18, 2004
This is from Photoshop "Help" and hopefully it'll give you some idea of what's happening;

"When your system does not have enough RAM to perform an operation, Photoshop and ImageReady use a proprietary virtual memory technology, also called scratch disks. A scratch disk is any drive or drive partition with free memory. By default, Photoshop and ImageReady use the hard drive on which the operating system is installed as the primary scratch disk.

In the Plug‑ins & Scratch Disks preferences in Photoshop, you can change the primary scratch disk and designate a second, third, or fourth scratch disk to be used when the primary disk is full. Your primary scratch disk should be your fastest hard disk; make sure it has plenty of defragmented space available."

so, when your hard drive doesn't have enough free space for the scratch disk, then you get the message you're getting. You'll have to remove some files to free up space on the internal drive or connect an external drive with adequate free space

gazmoore1980

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 22, 2007
London