scratching head about opening multiple screens

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by barryhill, Dec 29, 2016.

  1. barryhill macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    #1
    Hi

    I think I did something to my Mac a few days ago over the haze of xmas and a few wines, and find I cannot now open two apps at the same time on screen?

    ie, before I was able to open, say, safari, and also word, and see both apps side by side on my screen so I could happily cut and paste stuff.

    Now, if I open safari, then open word, the safari screen disappears?

    How do I get things back to normal?

    Barry
     
  2. barryhill thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    #3
    Hi
    Mm a 'solution' but before I did whatever I did, I could just open two or three apps and resize the windows to have them all on screen at the same time, obviously only one 'live' but I could click in the panel to use the app, then go back to another. At the moment, I can only have one window open, the others disappear when I click.

    barryt
     
  3. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #4
    Do you have your Apps Maximized (Green Button)?

    If not take screen shots of what you are experiencing and post them.
     
  4. barryhill thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    #5
    Hi I don't have apps maximised. I think it would be fruitless doing a screen shot because it would (for example) just show you Thunderbird open filling up one third of the screen, then when I open Firefox, Thunderbird disappears, so there would be nothing there! You would just see firefox filling up one third of the screen.

    I have a feeling this is related to single application mode, I have tried deleting the com.apple.dock.plist file, which didnt work, also I have tried the various terminal commands floating around about this, and rebooted, but no effect with either.

    It really is a mystery.


    Barry
    ps I do have liteswitch installed, which I read somewhere might be a culprit. I might try to uninstall that, a lengthy process ... in the meantime, any ideas would be appreciated.
     
  5. barryhill thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    #6
    This is now solved. I had DragThing installed and on reflection remembered playing with some settings, one of which effectively prevents more than one application window being open at a time. I deselected it, and it is all back to where it should be.

    Thanks for everyone for your interest and support with this issue.

    Barry
     

Share This Page