Screen artefacts gtx 680 on cMP 4,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Powermange, May 10, 2015.

  1. Powermange macrumors member

    Powermange

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Location:
    Sweden
    #1
    Hi all. Just got a used 680 to replace a 6870. Its flashed now but i have a problem with green dots/artefacts on the 30" ACD. The problem was there before flash also. It persists in windows as well. On both dual link dvi's. But only on the 30" my two 20" are fine regardless of port. ImageUploadedByTapatalk1431263761.897670.jpg
     
  2. Lareson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    #2
    To me, it looks like you have screen burn-in if its only appearing on the 30". It looks like it has a very distinct shape to it.

    I think there are a few programs around the web that can try and fix it, but won't guarantee to get rid of it.

    If it doesn't do that when you go back to your old GPU, then you might have a faulty dual-DVI port on the card.
     
  3. Powermange thread starter macrumors member

    Powermange

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Location:
    Sweden
    #3
    Trying to fault isolate here now. Problem persists using only original GT120 with only 30" ACD.

    During boot and when in desktop and in windows boot + desktop

    Monitor cable? (Likely)
    Driver? (During boot/desktop on both os, unlikely)

    Anyone seen this?
     
  4. Powermange thread starter macrumors member

    Powermange

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Location:
    Sweden
    #4
    Its not burn in as it moves around with graphics or windows.

    It appears in between colour gradients almost looks like 8bit colour or something

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1431265805.945788.jpg
     
  5. Powermange thread starter macrumors member

    Powermange

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Location:
    Sweden
    #5
    Ok solved attacking cable connecting to card resulted in a varying screen changes one of which was good. So its a connector problem

    Time to clean connector, but how?
     
  6. Powermange thread starter macrumors member

    Powermange

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Location:
    Sweden
    #6
    Arrgh! The bloody thing can be made to go away with manipulation of the connector bit comes back after a sleep or restart! WTF!!
     
  7. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #7
    the problem might be the LCDisplay itself. there were hundreds if not thousands of posts about this in the Apple discussions forum.
     
  8. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #8
    I've seen this happen on other monitors with a machine I used to work on. It's just the card itself. Time to get a different one, preferrably one that has a Mac firmware.

    \I've seen this happen on a brand new 4k monitor with a gtx680.
     
  9. Pending macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    #9
    You seem pretty sure but the OP said it occurred with the original GT120 as well.

    ----------

    Which connector are you 'manipulating'?
    Are there any bent pins?
     
  10. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #10
    It may be his 30" ACD, but I've had this happen to me on multiple monitors especially after I used programs like After Effects.
     
  11. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
  12. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #12
    the cable on the 30" ACD is fixed. I'm pretty sure it's the TMDS chip or controller board in the display.
     
  13. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #13
    Gosh! I never knew that. How incredibly dumb. Fixed cables are usually the hallmark of cheap & nasty models.
     

Share This Page