Screen capture - desktop?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by TimS, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. TimS macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #1
    How would I redefine where the screen capture utilities (command-shift-3, etc.) place the image? I can cut out a step in my work if, rather than placing the image on the desktop, I can place it in a specific folder (or even a network folder).
    Thanks.
    :confused:
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    If you install the Secrets prefpane there are several options you can change regarding screen captures, including the file destination.
     
  3. TimS thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #3
    works - but not to network

    Thanks, Miles.
    This may be as close as I can get. It works well, but won't save to a network folder.
    Thanks for the help.
     
  4. slpdLoad macrumors 6502a

    slpdLoad

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #4
    Can you save to an alias of a network folder?
     
  5. TimS thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #5
    Can't post to alias

    No, I've been trying to do this without success. I also tried saving directly to the network folder.
    In Windows, I could map a drive to the specific folder; am now exploring that possibility in OSX (10.6).
    Thanks.
     

Share This Page