Screen Capture with rMBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by willgreene99, Feb 18, 2013.

  1. willgreene99 macrumors regular

    willgreene99

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    DFW
    #1
    I used to enjoy using TechSmith's Snag-It and Skitch to create clear screen captures. I was thinking that once I got my rMBP it would be wonderful. I was mistaken. When I am trying to use Snag-It, I get only the bottom left corner of the screen. I have my resolution set to 1920x1200 HiDPI mode.
    I was only able to capture the precise screen when setting the resolution to it's native 2880x1800 with SwtchResX. This is a bit of en eye strain for me and only use it when I have to.
    I also tried using Skitch, which does allow a screen capture at the regualr 1920x1200 HiDPI mode. The downside is that when I paste it into another app, like word or Evernote, the image is more pixelated, which I am guessing is Skitch's way of rendering the screen capture based on the resolution. I have not tried using Skitch at the rMBP native resolution.
    Has anyone had success with another screen capture tool that does not pixelate the image?
     
  2. TC400 macrumors 6502a

    TC400

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    #2
    I must not have a professional need for screen capture I either use grab or the keyboard shortcut.

    Or wait until there is retina ready apps
     
  3. xShane macrumors 6502a

    xShane

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    Full screen: Command-Control-Shift-3 (Saves to desktop).
    Select portion: Command-Control-Shift-4 (Again, saves to desktop).

    Works pretty well for me.
     
  4. willgreene99 thread starter macrumors regular

    willgreene99

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    DFW
    #4
    Thanks xShane. Your tip led me to using the Preview App to create a screen shot. I first tried the 4-key method, but couldn't get it to work inside of a vm. Using Preview, I now can get back to making screen shots. It seems to sense the resolution correctly even when I change it, so that the images are clear and crisp.
     

Share This Page