Screen crashes on 8-core Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by kjeld, Oct 27, 2007.

  1. kjeld macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #1
    Hi all,

    Since a couple of weeks I am facing weird crashes on my 8core Mac Pro (May 2007). They happen from time to time. Sometimes directly after starting up, sometimes there are no crashes for a couple of days.
    [​IMG]

    • I get some seconds to make a screen capture, then need to do a hard reset.
    • You see a small iTunes window, but crashes do also happen when iTunes is closed.
    • It doesn’t seem to be related to specific software, however: the problem occured not long after I installed some CS3-apps (Illustrator, Acrobat, Indesign)
    • Did the latest software updates (OS 10.4.10) and firmware update for the videocard (ATI Radeon X1900 XT).
    • Monitor is a LaCie 22"
    • Repaired permissions couple of times
    • Did a PRAM reset.

    None of this seems to help, is there anybody with some suggestions?
    Thanks,
    Kjeld
     
  2. irishgrizzly macrumors 65816

    irishgrizzly

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
  3. Spikeanator6982 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #3
    does the screen then go all black after a bit?


    idk if its your problem, but the computer in my sig did that to me. sometime with different color of lines etc. I had to get the logic board replaced. Fixed the problem right up.

    Good Luck
     
  4. kjeld thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #4
    No, the screen doesn’t go black. But I never waited that long. Usely did a restart after 1-2 minutes.

    Added the monitor, which is a LaCie 22"
     
  5. hugodrax macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    #5
    Sounds like the videocard, Not sure if there is a way to test the videocard under OS X. A Video RAM check etc..
     
  6. Mr.Noisy macrumors 65816

    Mr.Noisy

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    UK™
    #6
    got another video card you can try?

    Looks like you should be contacting apple :(
     
  7. kjeld thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #7
    Nope. No other videocards to try.

    Forgot to mention that I ran a (extended) hardware test for about 15 hours, but did not notice anything wrong.
    Or does the hardware test don’t test any videocards?
     
  8. wentwj macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #8
    I don't suspect it could be the monitor, if screen capture is showing you the distorted image, then it must be something going wrong pre-monitor.

    I'd also guess video card, though it could be the logic board messing things up.
     
  9. kjeld thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #9
    Got the MacPro back from the repair centre yesterday and I am going to bring it back again tomorrow. They replaced the videocard and logic board, but after 15 minutes of some copying: boom! It’s back again.

    Getting sick and tired of these expensive stuff which won’t work.

    Maybe there’s somebody with other suggestions?
     
  10. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #10
    Thats very odd....because thats almost the whole machine replaced! power supply maybe? or the CPUs themselves but that seems odd?
     
  11. kjeld thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #11
    Yeah, I know. But it didn’t help...
    Is there more you can explain about the powersupply or what I can do with this?
     
  12. Graphis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #12
    Hi,
    I don't know if this is any help to you at all, as I have nothing like the setup you have (yet, although I'm planning to buy the same one).
    However, i experienced something very similar on my G4 with Apple Cinema display. The problem for me was in the Apple DVI adapter that I used for the monitor, do you use one of these? After a lot of trial and error, I found that it was something to do with the cabling in the DVI adapter, and how it was situated. I had it crammed into a space behind the Mac, and the cabling was squeezed together a bit too tightly. Simply by moving my Mac forward, giving the adapter a bit more space, and loosening the coils of the cable, solved the problem. I'm not techie enough to know why this worked, but it did. The only analogy I can think of is if you imagine the cabling was a hosepipe carrying water, and it got a kink in it :D Which is probably way off the mark, but at least the problem was solved.
    Good luck.
     
  13. kjeld thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #13
    Thanks for your feedback Graphis. And yes, I am using adapters. But I tried on two different monitors (the LaCie 22 and a 20" cinema display) with different adapters and cables. There is enough space and no kinks in the cables. But both setups give problems.

    That said, I doubt it will be the cabling or adapters.
     
  14. askipper macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    #14
    Any Success?

    Hi, did you get any success with this in the end? My Mac Pro purchased around the same time as you - has just started to do the same thing to me!!
     
  15. kjeld thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #15
    It ended up with probably software issue; might be Quark 7.3 (after replacing graphic card and logic board).
    Then the dealer updated this to 7.3.1 and the problem was gone.
     
  16. askipper macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    #16
    Thanks. I think the only thing ive installed is mozy back up so I will try and uninstall that to see if it mKes a difference.

    The only other thing i thought it maybe is that my mac is in my garden office and that gets really warm later on in the day when its sunny. Like 90 degrees hot - it has lots of glass and faces west as the sub sets. As we are now in spring and since we moved into this house last September this is the first time we've noticed it.

    Time to get zircon in the office I think!!!

    Anyway, will uninstall mozy to see if that helps.
     
  17. gives macrumors newbie

    gives

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    #17
    Me Too!!

    Taking my Mac Pro 8 Core 2nd Gen in this morning.. this is a real problem! Tested everything.. They are swaping out the Radeon 2600 Video Card for another one to test and I will run the new one for a day to see it it crashes my machine at shutdown
    My file looks like a wire mesh on the whole screen at startup sometimes. It's intermitant! Oh Yeah! I seeing this right after I updated to Mac OSX10.5.5. iTunes was updated a while back to Ver 8 but did not see anything there with the older OS. Also, no sunny in the room or temperature changes. Freezes at shutdown.
     
  18. CWSounds macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #18
    MAC BSOD?!?!?!?!?!?! oh no.
     
  19. jarno macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    #19
    Did you ever get this problem sorted out??

    My machine is now doing the same thing??

    Please help
     
  20. askipper macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    #20
    It just stopped doing it - i think it was over-heating on the Samsung monitor. I replaced the monitor with an Apple 30 inch cinema display and never had the problem since
     

Share This Page