Screen Grab on new iMacs?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by vanpauldesign, Mar 6, 2009.

  1. vanpauldesign macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #1
    Im having problems executing a successful screen grab on my iMac.

    Ive always used Shift+Cloverleaf+4 to select a portion of the screen and then get a snapshot, and that still seems to work because im hearing the photosnap sound.

    The problem occurs when i go to paste this captured selection, nothing happens. I cant paste it in photoshop, email, or anywhere for that matter.

    Has anyone else experienced this problem on the new iMacs?
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    Command+shift+4 takes a screenshot to a file, not to the clipboard. Take a look on your desktop.
     
  3. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #3
    Cloverleaf is called Command.

    Screenshots in OSX are saved to file on our desktop.
    (Saving screenshots to file are great for those who need to make many different screenshots.)
     
  4. vanpauldesign thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #4
    thanks! it was there!

    Now I know that you have to do CONTROL- COMMAND-SHIFT and 4 at the same time in order to save the selection to the clipboard instead of the desktop.
     
  5. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #5
    You can remap most keyboard shortcuts under the Keyboard & Mouse preference pane. I have area screenshot set to F19 and full screen to F18.
     

Share This Page