Screen resolution when connecting MBA to TV

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by sdilley14, Mar 6, 2014.

  1. sdilley14 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    #1
    I just got a Thunderbolt to HDMI cable to plug my MBA directly into my TV (55" LG LED). I got it plugged in and everything looked great, quality wise. However, I noticed that the mirror display from my MBA was slightly larger than the TV display itself. I'd say it was about 1" too large all around. Is there any way to get the MBA mirror display to conform to my TV's display? I went into display settings and tinkered around with it a little bit. It's set to output 1080p, which is what my TV is. I didn't mess with anything too much beyond that.

    Thank you!
     
  2. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #2
    Check the overscan. Televisions are designed so that part of the image is outside of the viewable on screen, so thus if your MBA recognizes a TV is attached it adds overscan (just like watching a movie, or television show). Reduce the overscan and your problem is solved.
     
  3. sdilley14 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    #3
    Is that just in the general display settings on the MBA? I don't have it around me at the moment so I can't check.
     
  4. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #4
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5841
     
  5. sdilley14 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ

Share This Page