Screen Resolution

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Channan, Feb 24, 2016.

  1. Channan macrumors 68030

    Channan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #1
    I've always kept it at the default (1280x800) until the past few days. I tried switching to the most space option (1680x1050) but everything looked so tiny, so I switched to the next size up, used that for a while to get used to it, then went full "More Space" and definitely won't be going back. It's almost like having a bigger display now since I can fit so much more on it.

    So I'm just curious what everyone else uses. Larger Text, Default, More Space, or in between?
     
  2. dwfaust macrumors 68040

    dwfaust

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    I am here => [•]
    #2
    It was a couple of months back when I changed the display setting on my 2012 rMBP... changed the setting to SCALED and chose the 2nd from highest resolution. Of course the text was a bit smaller, but the extra screen real estate was worth it. I have gotten used to the display and text size.
     
  3. Channan thread starter macrumors 68030

    Channan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #3
    You should try going to the highest resolution. You get used to it pretty fast and it's even better, IMO.
     
  4. Closingracer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    #4

    I use the 1440x900 res myself. enough real estate and the right size for text. I guess I am used to it since the laptops I had before my gaming laptop which is 1080p all had 1400x900 res which is close to 1440x900
     
  5. Channan thread starter macrumors 68030

    Channan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #5
    The laptop I had before my rMBP was a non-retina MacBook Pro, so the 1280x800 resolution just stuck with me. I wish I would have tried this sooner.
     
  6. Mcmeowmers macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    #6
    I desperately wish they would reenable the AppleDisplay scaling factor. I really hate how large the UI is on most apps and wish I could use the native resolution or something in between. I know you can with various apps but the text is way too small. I just want to scale the the top menu bar and the UI elements not everything else. :s
     
  7. Channan thread starter macrumors 68030

    Channan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #7
    The menu bar is the main reason I didn't switch sooner. I didn't like how tiny it got when changing the resolution. Now I'm used to it, and default feels abnormally large.
     
  8. Mernak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Location:
    Kirkland, WA
    #8
    Most of the time, I use the setting between Normal and More Space to get the extra screen real estate (I use Specatacle for a nice tiling windows) while still being able to read text without strain. The one exception when I revert back to Normal is when I am using a full desk setup with a screen and a monitor arm tray to place my laptop, which puts my laptop much further away than I usually have it on my desk, so it's harder to read (and with the extra monitor, I have less need for the extra screen space)
     
  9. RoboWarriorSr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    #9
    I tried using 1440x900 but noticed I was getting pretty bad eye strain so went back to 1280x800. Really enjoyed the extra restate but not over headaches.
     
  10. Channan thread starter macrumors 68030

    Channan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #10
    Why don't you try the next size up?
     
  11. RoboWarriorSr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    #11
    Then it make the headache worse? If I'm getting eyestrain due to small UI at 1440x900, why would I try to view even smaller UI elements?
     
  12. Channan thread starter macrumors 68030

    Channan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #12
    I mixed up the resolutions. I was thinking you went for the highest resolution so I was suggesting you to try the next size up from default.
     
  13. RoboWarriorSr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    #13
    Yeah the only other resolution was the old resolution Apple used to sell on their non-retina Macs, I believe the option was only available on upgraded 15" models (from the website) and default 17" (I believe it had an option for 1900x1200 or something). If the 17" had a retina screen it would probably have the 1900x1200 as a scaled resolution option.
     
  14. younker macrumors member

    younker

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    #14
    Will Apple upgrade the screen to 3360*2100 instead of 2880*1800?
     
  15. RoboWarriorSr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    #15
    Highly doubt it, the current Intel GPU's can't even properly run 4K displays well (see 4K iMac with Iris Pro 6200). Since there aren't any benchmarks of the Skylake Iris Pro with 72 EUs hard to say whether that will significantly bump performance. Probably need to wait a few more generations before that will be a viable option.
     
  16. hamiltonDSi macrumors 65832

    hamiltonDSi

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    Romania
    #16
    Nope.
    Performance over eye candy. Any day, any time.
    Using a scaled resolution affects performance and battery life.
    As you can see, my rMBP is no joke, and it lags when using a scaled res.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Channan thread starter macrumors 68030

    Channan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #17
    I wouldn't call that eye candy, considering it makes everything smaller and less sharp. Kind of the opposite of eye candy. It's just extremely convenient being able to fit more on the screen at one time.

    Also, I have the same year MacBook Pro, but a 13" i5 model, and I don't notice any lag at all. It performs exactly the same with any resolution I choose as far as I can tell.
     
  18. RoboWarriorSr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    #18
    If one were to start open a number of desktops in spaces and have a number of windows of app within in space the lag can be noticeable but its arguable whether or not that's justified. I've seen some people's spaces with an incredible number of opened windows (lots of terminal and safari windows).
     
  19. robvas macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
  20. Shamgar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    #20
    1680x1050 on my 15" rMBP. 1920x1200 is just too small to be consistently workable for my bad eyesight as much as I might love the extra space. I don't notice any significant performance hit, which is good (though the UI hitches a bit even at default). I am annoyed by the brief video artifacting that occurs every time it wakes from hibernation on non-default resolutions. (Apple Support's official solution: Don't use non-default resolutions.)
     
  21. Channan thread starter macrumors 68030

    Channan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #21
    Well, that's expected with more apps open. Just changing the resolution doesn't mean you're forced to have more apps open. That's a choice, and instead of having to keep hiding apps behind other apps because you don't have much space, you can have them right next to each other.

    Well 1680x1050 is a great resolution, IMO. Plenty enough space to run multiple apps side by side. I think it would be nice to have a higher resolution option, just to see if I would even like it, but I'm perfectly happy with 1680x1050.

    And I haven't noticed the artifacting, but I haven't really paid attention. Next time I use my MacBook Pro, I'll look out for that. Obviously it doesn't really affect anything, but that would be really annoying to see every time. It would just make you feel like your device is buggy. Lol
     
  22. Shamgar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    #22
    I understated when I said artifacting: My screen is a mess of noise for a half second every time I wake it from hibernation. There is nothing subtle about it. Apparently this is a bug that was introduced in Yosemite and has never been fixed. It only affects a portion of rMBPs so Apple appears to be content in not fixing it. It doesn't affect my use so I live with it, but it is still annoying and unnerving.
     
  23. Channan thread starter macrumors 68030

    Channan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #23
    Oh, then I definitely don't have that. Mind posting a video of it? I'm curious to see what it looks like.
     
  24. Beau10, Mar 20, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2016

    Beau10 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Location:
    Downtown San Diego
    #24
    I use 1920*1200 HiDPI on my 13" rMBP, used RDM to put it up there. Just a note for those who want to go further than the defaults, which you certainly can.

    I'm a 40 year old programmer, the extra screen real estate is huge for my productivity. I can easily go 12+ hour sessions with no eyestrain. In my late 20s I had a 15" windows laptop at 1920*1200 that was a major PITA and gave me headaches... lower pixel density, non-IPS (poorer viewing angles/color gamut, more uneven backlighting etc).
     
  25. Channan thread starter macrumors 68030

    Channan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #25
    I looked into downloading an app that would let me do that. 1080p would be awesome. What's the cheapest option that accomplishes that?
     

Share This Page