Screen Saver function is missing

Discussion in 'macOS' started by vansouza, Nov 22, 2008.

  1. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #1
    When I go into System Preferences and then to Desktop and Screen Saver; the Desktop portion is there and presents itself and works as expected. However the Screen Saver option when chosen crashes the System Prefs thing because it is missing all of the screen savers...

    The box under Screen Savers is totally and completely blank, nothing is there.

    I might not mind this except... my poor iMac just flashes off and on, the screen does, as it tries to enter that mode.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks...:eek::mad::confused:
     
  2. Tom B. macrumors 65816

    Tom B.

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Sorry, I can't really be of any help, but my MacBook also has this problem.
     
  3. vansouza thread starter macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #3
    What version are you on... this happened to me starting with 10.5.5 did not go away in .5 and is now there in the beta of .6.

    I filed a report will Apple, I tried reinstalling the os...no deal.
     
  4. Tom B. macrumors 65816

    Tom B.

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #4
    I am also on 10.5.5. To be honest, I haven't really tried anything to fix it, because I have no use for screensavers.
     
  5. vansouza thread starter macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #5
    what do you use instead, how do you get around needing them?, If I may ask.;)
     
  6. RITZFit macrumors 65816

    RITZFit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    In my Corner
    #6
    just a random thought but have you tried repairing permissions? (i know, everyone says that...can work miracles sometimes!lol)
     
  7. vansouza thread starter macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #7
    I know that is like take two pills can call in the morning... I am going to do that right now. thanks. I should have done if before the update. Thanks.
     
  8. vansouza thread starter macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #8
    No Repair Permissions did nothing... arg... I have no idea of what to try next.
     
  9. Tom B. macrumors 65816

    Tom B.

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #9
    Well if I would use them on a desktop, but on a laptop, I tend to just close the lid, or at least turn off the screen if I'm not actually using it.
     
  10. ltldrummerboy macrumors 68000

    ltldrummerboy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #10
    If you have Safari 4 beta uninstall it. The latest release is known to cause problems with .qtz files. In fact, attempting to open one will crash the Finder. Be sure to use the uninstaller that's in the .dmg instead of dragging it to the trash.
     
  11. vansouza thread starter macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #11
    I ended up installing Leopard with Archive and Install function... everything is fine now... and YES I was using Safari v4. I will be doing that again.

    Thanks to all for your help.
     

Share This Page