Screen Sharing and Changing Desktops...

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by JoelBC, Aug 29, 2014.

  1. JoelBC macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #1
    I need / want to screen share on a computer that uses multiple desktops.

    I can connect / screen share with the remote computer but cannot change desktops on the remote computer because when I enter Ctrl --> or Ctrl <-- it changes the desktop on the local computer and not the remote computer.

    Can someone please let me how to chafe desktops on the remote computer.

    TIA,


    Joel
     
  2. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #2
    Not possible. You just have to manually click on Mission Control on the remote desktop instead.
     
  3. JoelBC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #3
    I don't doubt what you say but that is rather poor software design because it means that mission control has to be added to the dock...not very Apple-like...
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    May be you can try to set different hot keys on your remote computers (e.g. "Fn + direction") to change space.
     
  5. JoelBC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #5
    Appreciate the idea but that would mean that I could have to have to set this up on every computer I want to screen share with...that is a bit of a pain, hopefully Apple will come up with a better solution
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    How about change the hot key of your host computer, then you only have to do it once.
     
  7. JoelBC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #7
    I thought of that but could not figure out how to do that...if someone would be so kind to tell me how I would certainly try it...thx...
     
  8. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #8
    Untitled.png

    Click the symbols, and then press the hot key you want.
     
  9. JoelBC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #9
    Understood but why would this impact the remote machine any differently than the current key combination impacts the local machine...to me this is just changing the keys that one presses to change desktops as there is no way to force a key combination to act on the remote machine.
     
  10. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    If the remote machine able to get the correct key input, they should follow your order.

    However, in your case, since your host computer will change to another space if you press the hot key, this action actually makes you leave your screen sharing windows and stop transfer your command to the remote computer.

    If change the host's computer's hot key, when you press "Ctr + direction", this will mean nothing to your host computer, and your screen sharing apps may able to correctly transfer this command to your remote machine.

    I can easily perform this action by using LogMeIn. I think this action should be available though screen sharing as well (if you do it correctly).
     
  11. JoelBC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #11
    Appreciate the response which is now clear to me...thanks...
     
  12. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #12
    Nothing needs to be setup on the remote computers. Mission Control doesn't need to be in the. Dock. It lives in the Applications folder and can be launched from Finder.
     
  13. JoelBC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #13
    I will politely disagree with this as I thought of this but ran into a problem...in the situation I am screen sharing many of the user's run VM of Windows and have them setup such that the OS X folders do not appear in the VM meaning I cannot access OS X's application folder [i.e. I am stuck].

    Thanks,

    Joel
     
  14. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #14
    If you are running a Parallels VM full screen, you can move the cursor to the menu bar area and the menu bar will drop down. That would get you back to the mac Desktop. But I will admit you have an interesting problem.
     
  15. JoelBC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #15
    Agreed...


    Agreed...I am actually surprised that Apple missed this one given that screen sharing is included in OS X, OS X Server, etc.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page