Screen Sharing between Leopard and Vista ... Is it possible?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mgpg89, Nov 29, 2008.

  1. mgpg89 macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #1
    I'm on Leopard, my sister's on Vista. Is it possible?
     
  2. Scottyk9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
  3. italiano40 macrumors 65816

    italiano40

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    NY
  4. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
  5. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #5
    Not in any way as easy as iChat's "Screen Sharing" option, but it is possible. VNC would probably be the best option both ways, but it takes some doing to configure (especially if you're both behind NAT routers).

    EDIT: VNC, not VLC. Brain fart.
     
  6. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #6
    We're both in the same network.
    Do I just install a VNC client on the Vista PC and then use the 'share screen' button in the Finder to start the screen sharing app?
     
  7. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #7
    Install the VNC Client, go to Finder > Go > Connect To Server
    and type:

    vnc://VistaIPAddress
     
  8. ab2650 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #8
    Are you trying to control the Mac's screen with the Vista PC? (Then the VNC client on Vista is what you want; Don't forget to turn on "Screen Sharing" under System Prefs -> Sharing on your Mac.)

    If you're looking to control the Vista machine, install TightVNC (the full service) and you can control the PC as well as let the PC control the mac. The quickest way I've found to launch VNC control is (from the Finder) hit Cmd-K, then type "vnc://1.2.3.4" where 1.2.3.4 is the IP address of the target host.

    It should be noted that the OP has to install the TightVNC service, not just the client, to connect to Vista.

    The client is only a viewer. The service is the server.
     
  9. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #9
    Right, I'd thought that was pretty obvious.
     
  10. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #10
    UPDATE

    We bought a 5-user license of Remote Desktop for the other Macs at home.

    Now I want to control the Vista PC with it as well.
    I got the Vista IP address. I installed TightVNC on the PC. The service is launched. I got the admin username and password. I can remotely access the files on the PC in the Finder.
    The status of the Vista PC in Remote Desktop says 'VNC available'

    And still it's giving me this error message: Authentication failed to 'Vista PC'

    Anyone know what might be causing the problem?
     
  11. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
  12. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #12
    Alright I got it to work. A bit strange though.
    It wouldn't work when I used the admin login, but it DID work when I used a random other login (not even a user on the computer)
     

Share This Page