Resolved Screen sharing from Mountain Lion to Mavericks not working

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by RoboCop001, Oct 23, 2013.

  1. RoboCop001, Oct 23, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2013

    RoboCop001 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #1
    Hey all,

    I just remotely installed Mavericks from work because I'm install happy right now, and after my home Mac rebooted, I could no longer screen share.

    Using a Mountain Lion iMac, I could connect as myself and view my files. But when I hit Share Screen it would ask me to make sure screen sharing is enabled on the remote computer, which it most definitely was.

    Is this a Mountain Lion to Mavericks incompatibility perhaps? Or maybe it switched off screen sharing for some reason? Who knows.

    I even checked a couple of plist files and screen sharing does seem to be enabled, but the way the settings are stored may have changed with Mavericks.

    We probably won't update the work computers just yet.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. RoboCop001 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    Update:

    Looks like it's probably an incompatibility thing. I rebooted the Mountain Lion iMac, and the Share Screen button no longer appears on the toolbar in the Finder when I click on my home Mac. I only see a "Connect as..." option now.

    My guess is that Mavericks can only receive sharing sessions from Mavericks. I'll have to test if it works the other way around, Mavericks to Mountain Lion sharing, but it's probably the same deal.

    Hopefully we'll update the work Macs soon enough.
     
  3. squeakr macrumors 68000

    squeakr

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #3
    I screen shared all day from Mavericks to ML before I got the server upgraded yesterday.
     
  4. RoboCop001 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #4
    Okay cool. At least it works in that direction. Did you happen to notice any new settings that might prevent ML to Mavericks sharing?
     
  5. squeakr macrumors 68000

    squeakr

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #5
    The settings are pretty much the same from my tinkering. I can't comment much on these things though as everything is managed and propagated through the server so I have little control on the local system. I just use screen sharing lots and know that after I upgraded to Maverick, the server app wasn't released yet so it was still running ML and I was able to share it's screen. In fact, now that I think about it I was ale to share the remote disk from the server back to my laptop, so sharing was working that way in a basic form at least.

    Check your firewall settings under the privacy settings.
     
  6. RoboCop001 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #6
    Okay. Hmm when I got home, I noticed it was asking me for my iCloud password. That might be the problem. The setup screen might have been interfering, perhaps. Although strangely, Back To My Mac was still working.

    I'll try it again when I'm in the office next week.

    Thanks for your replies!
     
  7. jtwrace macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #7
    My screen share works but it's fuzzy and small.
     
  8. squeakr macrumors 68000

    squeakr

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #8
    Have you tried setting the view setting from adaptive (which I believe is the default) to the full setting?
     
  9. dmkahn, Oct 26, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2013

    dmkahn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #9
    mavericks to mavericks wasn't working for me after the upgrade, I had to muck around with the firewall settings on the target and restart it. Just changing the firewall settings on the target wasn't enough.

    turning off the firewall allowed the connection without a restart, but I couldn't figure out why it was still being blocked after restarting the firewall and removing (what I think was a stale entry) for screensharingd.

    I'm guessing it's the same issue with anything to mavericks, where the screen to be shared is running mavericks.

    I believe that any change to firewall settings might require a restart at this point. (other than turning it off).

    -David
     
  10. kappaknight macrumors 68000

    kappaknight

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    #10
    I ran into similar issues too. For the computer you want to remote to, make sure in Settings, under the list of users who are allowed to Screen Share or Remote Manage, it's not set to Administrators, but rather, the specific user that you would log in as.

    This changed during the upgrade for whatever reason, but adding the actual user on the computer into the list of approved Remote Admins fixed this for me; and it also brought back the Screen Sharing icon on the network.
     
  11. squeakr macrumors 68000

    squeakr

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #11
    This might explain why all worked for me as I was already set up with individual user authentication in that list for tighter security and control in ML.
     
  12. RoboCop001 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #12
    Update:

    So it turns out that after installing Mavericks, the Screen Sharing option under Sharing preferences was turned off for whatever reason.

    I turned it back on and it's working now. Writing this post remotely haha.

    Weird how it would shut that setting off though. Maybe there are new defaults for certain things for security reasons, and those defaults even override whatever the previous settings were. That's my guess.
     
  13. walterhpdx macrumors newbie

    walterhpdx

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Location:
    Live: Oregon - Work: Anywhere (currently SoCal)
    #13
    EXACTLY! That's the most frustrating thing - After upgrading to Mavericks, it automatically turns off screen sharing for whatever reason. I have 3 headless Mac Minis (2 database servers and 1 for an entertainment system) in addition to my Mac Pro and Macbook Pro - and each time I upgrade, I've had to turn it back on. FRUSTRATING!
     

Share This Page