Screen Shots???

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Skyburning, Oct 27, 2007.

  1. Skyburning macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #1
    I'm sorry..I'm a switcher..and cannot, for the life of me figure out how to take a screen shot. I see the keyboard shortcuts on my "keyboard and trackpad" options..but I push the buttons and nothing happens. What am I doing wrong, and what buttons exactly am I supposed to be pusing?! Thanks for the help.
     
  2. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #2
    May we assume that you have started the program Grab?
     
  3. Skyburning thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #3
    I have not and am not yet familiar with that program. I did however just happen to glance at the top of this page and found the macguide for taking screenshots. *slaps forehead* Sorry to waste space! (The shift button is what I couldn't figure out.)

    *edited to say I also just figured out how to use the *Grab* feature.*
     
  4. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #4
    Quite alright! The easiest way to start it is using spotlight - just type in grab and start the app. Then check the Capture menu selection!
     
  5. Buschmaster macrumors 65816

    Buschmaster

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #5
    Also, a very nice way to do a quick screenshot is to hit:
    alt+shift+4.

    Then if you hit the spacebar it'll grab the edges for you.
     
  6. Skyburning thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #6
    Is there a way for me to change the Grab settings to save to folder instead of the desktop as default?

    *edit* I don't mean Grab..it gives me the option to save to a folder. I mean when I just use the shortcut it saves to the desktop by default..is there a way to change that?
     
  7. Ariez macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #7
    alt shift 3 for full screenshot
    alt shift 4 for capture.
     
  8. ab2650 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #8
    On mine it's Command-Shift-4.
     
  9. Ariez macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #9
    :eek: I knew i messed up on something when i edited. I even wrote "alt ***** 4"
     
  10. GFLPraxis macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #10
    Command-Shift-3 takes a screenshot of the whole screen :)
     
  11. pakstar macrumors newbie

    pakstar

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    Norway
  12. Skyburning thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #12
    I love that page! Thanks for posting..I learned a lot of neat stuff!
     

Share This Page