Screenshot paste to AI not working in Snow?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by milesdavis, Feb 23, 2010.

  1. milesdavis macrumors regular

    milesdavis

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #1
    Hi All,

    One of my favorite tools no longer works in Illustrator after upgrading to Snow Leopard.

    The cmd-ctrl-shift-4 > copy to clipboard then paste -- This has always worked great for me in Illustrator CS3 when using Leopard 10.5 --

    While the paste works in every other program, it no longer works in AI and gives me the 'quicktime decompressor' error.

    I know I was never able to drag in from Safari or Preview, but I was ALWAYS able to copy to clipboard and paste into illustrartor without any problems. I was also able to do a screengrab within AI and paste, but that doesnt work either.

    I wasn't able to screengrab from any program, including Photoshop -- very odd.

    Can anyone verify whether this is a Snow Leopard problem, AI CS3 problem or migration/installation error that I can fix?

    Thanks! MD
     
  2. tonyburkhart macrumors regular

    tonyburkhart

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio
    #2
    Did you set it up as a keyboard shortcut in 10.5?
     
  3. milesdavis thread starter macrumors regular

    milesdavis

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #3
    I'm not sure -- I dont remember doing anything specifically like that. I just used it as the default screen capture method in OSX. Is there a way to check?

    Thanks!

    MD
     
  4. tonyburkhart macrumors regular

    tonyburkhart

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio
    #4
    I am running 10.6.2 and tested it.

    It still works fine for pasting into Preview and when I connected to my mini via screen share, sent the clipboard and executed command-N into Preview there.

    I has to be an integration/permissions problem with AI. I, however, am not familiar enough with the Adobe suite of products to even point you in the right direction.

    I will however do some Googling and be back :)

    ----

    edit :

    seems that there are image opening issues, where certain file types will crash Adobe. Maybe this relates to the paste from clipboard problem you're having. Also, AI may not support QT compression.

    A couple of useful links :
    http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/512/cpsid_51215.html
    http://news.softpedia.com/news/Adobe-Posts-Snow-Leopard-CS3-Compatibility-Notes-121073.shtml
    http://forums.adobe.com/thread/317756
    http://forums.devshed.com/photoshop-help-88/quicktime-tiff-decompressor-needed-408135.html
    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1373076
     
  5. milesdavis thread starter macrumors regular

    milesdavis

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #5
    Thanks for your reply. It's very strange because I have always done this with AI in Leopard, but now in SL it is not working at all. I mean, it always pastes but with the 'QT decompressor' needed and shaped in the size of the paste.

    I did migrate over from my MacBook, so perhaps something did not transfer correctly. THanks for looking up, I googled without any luck on this specific issue.

    If Adobe's customer service wasn't as atrocious as it is, I would just call them and get their assistance.

    Thanks again all!

    - MD
     
  6. tonyburkhart macrumors regular

    tonyburkhart

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio
    #6
    Cool, you're welcome. If you do find an answer, please post and update!

    :)
     

Share This Page