Screwed myself?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by ryans79, Dec 29, 2009.

  1. ryans79 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    #1
    Hey,
    Been reading up on my problem and it sounds like I kind of screwed myself a bit... but I'll let you more experienced people have final judgment.

    I just upgraded my hdd a couple of mins ago from the 120 gig to a seagate 500gig :cool: , but before doing that i used "carbon copy cloner" to clone my old drive, as well as the 8gig partition i had there where i used to keep my copy of snow leopard (easier that carrying the disk around).

    CCC cloned both partitions perfectly.

    I named them Mac and Mac-backup

    then I created another partition using disk utility and named it Win - this is where i want to install win7 via bootcamp. The "Win" partition is totally empty.

    Note i did all the above by connecting the new disk to a USB external caddy.
    I then installed the new drive and... it stared up well and everything seems to be working till i try to install bootcamp, then it gives me this error:
    "The startup disk cannot be partitioned or restored to a single partition." (see attached pic)
    [img=http://img187.imagevenue.com/loc921/th_31974_Screen_shot_2009-12-30_122_921lo.png]

    Please advise.. what to do?
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    Please post a screenshot of what you current drive partition scheme looks like from Disk Utility. You should be able to forge ahead without worrying about Boot Camp Assistant, unless you did what I did recently and picked the wrong partition type... (EDIT: It needs to be GPT).

    B
     
  3. ryans79 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    #3
    I highlighted each partition and took multiple screenshots as I was not sure which screenshot you wanted...

    [img=http://img101.imagevenue.com/loc217/th_32662_Screen_shot_2009-12-30_at_1.29.07_AM_122_217lo.png][img=http://img197.imagevenue.com/loc748/th_32663_Screen_shot_2009-12-30_at_1.29.58_AM_122_748lo.png][img=http://img249.imagevenue.com/loc217/th_32664_Screen_shot_2009-12-30_at_1.30.13_AM_122_217lo.png][img=http://img264.imagevenue.com/loc234/th_32665_Screen_shot_2009-12-30_at_1.30.36_AM_122_234lo.png]
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    Reformat your "Win" partition as MS-DOS (FAT) instead of HFS+ (Mac OS Journaled) then just reboot and hold down "Alt/Option" to boot from the Windows install disc. You've already done what Boot Camp Assistant can do for you.

    B
     
  5. ryans79 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    #5
    Cool!
    And thanks for helping me out mate.

    Quick Q, can i use NTFS instead?
    From my little knowledge of reading it says it offers "more security" and is "overall better than the 'older' FAT system"
     
  6. 1ofthedavids macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #6
    Since you're installing Win7, you'll need NTFS. It won't install on FAT.
     
  7. ryans79 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    #7
    Thanks guys, I'll format it to NTFS and then try installing it and come back if i hit any walls.

    Have a good one!
    R
     
  8. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    The FAT partition is only a placeholder. Tells the Windows installer "look here dummy!". Disk Utility won't create NTFS partitions, but the Windows installer will do it for you when you start the install.

    B
     

Share This Page