Scripting Help

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by ninethirty, Feb 13, 2011.

1. ninethirty macrumors 6502a

Hey Everyone,

First of all... I'm not a programmer in any way at all. I can do some basic command line stuff, but for the most part, I don't have a clue what I'm doing :)

I've recently gotten an AppleTV (which I love) and I've been converting all my old MKV files to M4V using command line ffmpeg.

Recently I got to thinking... wouldn't it just be easy if I had a folder that as soon as an MKV was dropped in would do the following:

• Run command line ffmpeg (ffmpeg -i FILE.mkv -vcodec copy -acodec copy FILE.m4v)
    • Delete the MKV
    • Place the M4V in iTunes
    • Delete the original M4V

I know you're probably all laughing at how simple this is, but if someone could help me figure out what I need to do to accomplish this.. you'd be making someone very happy :)

Cheers in advance, and apologies if this is the wrong place for this.

2. subsonix, Feb 13, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2011

subsonix macrumors 68040

What you want to do is look into Automator, and folder actions. Basically anything dropped inside such a folder will get the action applied to it.

Edit: You can also make it a "service" from Automator which will add it to the context menu and show up whenever you right click on an object which makes sense to the script. (this applies to both methods) Inside Automator choose the action run shell script, then selected items as argument. Automator will generate an empty for loop inside it, then you just add your script. All you need to do is replacing the filenames with the argument variables.

3. ninethirty thread starter macrumors 6502a

Thanks for your help!

I got as far as the run shell script action. No clue what to do after that :)