Scrolling Issue

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by kiwisoda, Oct 12, 2010.

1. kiwisoda macrumors newbie

Hi! I'm brand new to the form, so, please forgive me if I sound completely stupid.

I purchased a macbook approximately... 8 months ago? It's worked just fine until recently... First: The mouse pad stopped functioning. I can move the mouse with the pad, however, I cannot click with it. Not a big deal. I bought an external mouse and that problem was ... relatively solved.

Now I'm having another malfunction. Whenever there's a scrolling bar at the bottom of a browser it automatically drags it all the way to the right. It's making it impossible to use Microsoft Excel (Mac version). Any ideas what could be causing this?

At first I thought... maybe one of the arrows was suck, but... it's giving me no problems when I navigate though text. Just the windows.

2. Makosuke macrumors 603

First off, being unable to click is probably a hardware problem (unless the button got stuck down due to dust or crumbs or something), and if it's only 8 months old it's still under warranty, so get Apple to fix it sooner rather than later--it'd be a shame to have the warranty run out before getting something broken repaired for free.

Second, what you're describing sounds like maybe the "scroll right" command is stuck on. To test: Get a window with a right-left scrollbar open behind the main window; move the mouse pointer over the background window without clicking it or bringing it to the front. If it immediately starts scrolling back there, then that's what's happening. Arrow keys or any other interface things I can think of wouldn't do this.