SCSI in G4?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by 128keaton, Aug 13, 2015.

  1. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #1
    Hello, I recently remembered when I was disassembling my old G4 it had two 10,000 RPM SCSI drives (Jaguars). I gave one to a buddy and kept one for myself, presumably these were in a RAID0 setup. My question is, how did these interface with the machine? Surely there isn't some sort of SCSI-> IDE. I'm pretty sure if thats the case then they weren't getting full performance out of their drives. Is there some sort of PCI adaptor?
     
  2. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #2
    A 68-pin UW SCSI card was an option, usually on the "server" version of these computers. I have a beige G3 "Server" with this card and three drives in RAID 0(it's LOUD!). This was called the "Jackhammer" card in Apple literature. It has an external high-density Centronics port, but the literature cautions you not to use it. This is a firmware compatible card, so is bootable.

    There was also a BTO card with an external 50 pin(I think) HD Centronics connector and an internal 50 pin connector. The BTO version of this card is also firmware compatible, so the computer can boot off an internal or external drive connected to it. I have a couple of G4s that have this card.
     
  3. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #3
    Interesting. I do believe this was a server (now that you mention it, I remember using VNC to get into the thing) it has the double drive brackets instead of single. Now I just need to find the card. I think it's a 68 pin, I'm a little bit fuzzy on my Scuzzy.
     
  4. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #4
    If the drives are 68 pin(I'm guessing they are at 10K RPM) and were OEM, I can't imagine it not having a 68 pin card.

    There's not much point in putting up with an obnoxiously loud high performance drive if you're not getting the full bandwidth of it :)

    BTW, there's something about those 10K Jaguars that really, really grates on my ears. The SGI Octane sitting next to me at the moment has a pair of 15K 80 pin Jaguars that I can barely hear, but every 10K Jaguar I've had sounded like a chainsaw. I also have a 3U IBM set up as a file server with 6 15K SAS drives in Raid 5, and can't hear the drives in it either(although maybe it's because of the fans :) ). The 10Ks are really bad when you have 2-3 in a system.
     
  5. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #5
    I couldn't find the drive anyway. I could probably spend less time and money on an SSD. I'm thinking about one for the cube since it will be a server.
     
  6. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #6
    I have two Powermacs with SCSI cards in: A B/W with an Adaptec 2940UW (68+50 pin) and a Sawtooth with an Adaptec 2930 (50 pin only). The Mac versions of the Adaptec cards tend to go under the Power Domain moniker but are otherwise identical to their PC equivalents save for the firmware. Both were frequently bundled with Macs prior to the take off of USB scanners.
     
  7. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #7
    I have the Adaptec cable actually, I just need to find the card. I'm pretty sure it would be a card with an internal 68pin
     
  8. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #8
    That is the AHA-2940UW. This one is flashable, the 2930 needs the bios chip replaced to update.

    image.jpg
     
  9. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #9
    Let me check with my friend who co-stripped this machine with me. I don't remember seeing one just like that, but he could've removed it before I got to it.
     

Share This Page