SCSI Troubles

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by SirFoxx, Jun 22, 2014.

  1. SirFoxx macrumors regular

    SirFoxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Galien, Michigan
    #1
    I know my last thread in march was about this same subject, but I finally got around to getting all the parts and info I need. However at every turn I make I am running into issues.

    I originally planned on using an IBM DNES-318350 18gb drive in my quadra 950 since my apple branded drive died from sitting. Now, I have tried everything to get this drive to work with it. I tried the A/UX installer, and every time I get an error 11 with a system bomb. Then I tried using the patched 7.3.5 installer, and it won't see the drive. I then moved to trying to format it with another macintosh. With my performa 6115CD, it will turn on, sit at the grey screen with the mouse, but no happy/sad mac symbol will appear unless the 68-50 pin adapter is removed. I then tried going to my 7300/200, but the 2gb quantum drive is dead, and it refuses to use the drive from the performa. I had hopes with my beige g3, but it is password locked and requires a fresh install from my understanding to remove the password.

    Am I just having bad luck, or is there something else I could try?
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    How is the G3 password locked? In Mac OS, OpenFirmware?
     
  3. SirFoxx thread starter macrumors regular

    SirFoxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Galien, Michigan
    #3
    It has an OS lock on it. When it boots up, it has 2 profiles, both in which are locked.
     
  4. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #4
    What OS is on the G3? In the case of either classic Mac OS or OS X you can remove the passwords on the accounts without having to do a complete reinstall. The method depends on which OS you're running though.
     
  5. SirFoxx thread starter macrumors regular

    SirFoxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Galien, Michigan
    #5
    It is running Mac OS 9.1
     
  6. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #6
    Okay so you need to boot the Mac up off an OS CD. Once its up and running, open up the System Folder on the HDD, then open up Preferences and delete the file called Multi-User Prefs. When you reboot off the HDD, the passwords will be gone on the user accounts.
     
  7. SirFoxx thread starter macrumors regular

    SirFoxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Galien, Michigan
    #7
    I will make sure to do this when I go home today.

    Aside from that, I thought I would try the installer floppy and see if it would recognize my other apple drives. I got everything hooked up, put in the 7.01 floppy, but it would not recognize either of my apple drives. I tried switching the cable to the other scsi plug on the motherboard, but it still didn't work. Do the hdd's have to be clean or is there a possibility that there is something wrong with my motherboard?

    p.s. both the quantum 2gb and the 350mb drive have an OS already installed on them, but my quadra would not recognize either of them...however both have a PPC installation of 7.5.3 and I think OS 9 on the quantum.
     
  8. SirFoxx thread starter macrumors regular

    SirFoxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Galien, Michigan
    #8
    Just a quick update, I removed that file, and it got rid of the password locks, but the system would say that my clock is off, and would proceed to lock up >.< I found 1 blank cd in my house, burned it, and when my macbook was at finishing, and ejected it, it said it failed. I tried restoring it to the g3 hard drive, and my laptop kept throwing stupid errors, like cannot scan name.toast, invalid argument, and some others I cannot remember. I guess all I can do is wait till tomorrow to get some fresh CD's and try again.
     

Share This Page