Sctretched screen in Windows under Boot Camp

Discussion in 'iMac' started by armani, Aug 10, 2007.

  1. armani macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #1
    Hi, we have new iMac 24". I have installed Boot Camp and windows XP, so my son can play his games. Everyting was fine until we relaized the problem. When he sets up resolution in the game (usually it is 4X3 ratio) the screen stretches. I also noticed, when I try to change resolution to say 1600x1200 it stretches the screen as well. I know what the problem would be on PC, I would just go into BIOS and set the display, so it doesn't stretch the screen. It also stretches when windows starts, there are huge letters. Is there any way to set up the computer, so it does not stretch the screen? I guess I can not get into such thing as BIOS?
     
  2. flipperanubi, Aug 10, 2007
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2011
  3. armani thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #3
    I forgot to mentions, that when not in the game and trying to set a different resolution (let's say 1600x1200), it streches. On my notebook, when I boot in windows it shows a small screen, when I change to a lower resolution it also shows just a smaller screen (screen in the screen). But I have "LCD Stretch disabled" in BIOS. Here it streches everything to fit the screen. So, if I want to play an old game it looks awfull, but looks fine on my Toshiba, even though the screen is 4x3 with black bars on the sides. How to disable sctreching on Apple - I have no idea.
     
  4. armani thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #5
    I set up Fusion and I managed to make any screen size I needed but the games did not run, gave errors. When I came back to run win under boot camp, had to reinstall all the drivers. Damn...
     
  5. ChancyJohn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #6
    Hey

    Sorry to go off topic here..but since u mention games in BootCamp i am really curious to know about the gaming performance...Could you please post some comments on this or if possible some FPS numbers...

    Thanx...
     
  6. Gerwin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #7
    The option for strectching or not stretching the screen in windows is in the options screen for display. So go to configuration screen-->display-->settings and wander around a bit in all options available. There is an option somewhere that determines how the screen should behave when afull screen application does not support your resolution.
     
  7. armani thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #8
    See, I have games which are one-three years old and so far I am having problems. They just don't run under boot camp. Windows looks great, but games are just falling out. NFS 2 for example, even though it stretches the screen, it starts fine, I can see everything works pretty fast, then after 2-3 min, just gets back to desktop. My son also playes some Maple Story game, very simple kids game, it also starts and as soon as he gets to play it ot crashes. I installed fusion, I thought it would help with stretching, it did in a way, but the games would not even launch. NFS would give an error and MS game would say somthing like "can not recognize screen properties". It is also strange, when in boot camp I go into display properties the max res is 1920-1200, when I set up the fusion - it gave me over 2500...something, there were so many options I can not even remember. So I am not sure what it is. May be windows can not work properly with this mac hardware configuration. Any suggestions are very welcome. I don't know, may be I should try new games and see how it works, but the problem if they work poorly I can not return the game.
     
  8. armani thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #9
    I know windows pretty well (that is why I went for mac now:rolleyes:), and usually I set it up in bios and it works as a breeze, perfect. I have Nvidia on my laptop and it has a lot of ways to set up the screen. In windows under boot camp on mac, display properties have almost no options. I went to ATI website and could not find anything about HD2600 for Mac and Mac boot camp, no utilities, no drivers or fixes. I guess it is pretty new card and they have anything available yet. I even tried to install drivers for 2600 pro, which are for Win XP, but could not install them.
     
  9. l33r0y macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
  10. rds macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #11
    (Assuming you have the ATI drivers installed, should be included with Boot Camp 1.4 drivers or try the HD 2600 Mobility XT driver from ATI...)

    From memory...

    Control Panel --> Display --> Advanced --> Displays --> (click on relevant display) --> Should be a graphical check box for stretching...

    [EDIT] Obviously you cannot do this with Fusion/Parallels, only using Boot Camp as the ATI driver will not be initialised..
     
  11. ChancyJohn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #12
    These games are really old
    If you are referring to NFS HP 2 (NFS 6 i think?) it's nearly 5 years old or if u mean NFS 2 thats like a decade old. Back then possibly the wide screen might not have been mainstream and the game dev may not have included support for it,hence the problem.

    The newer games should work fine. But apart from a handful of benchmarks not many have posted any FPS numbers yet...
     
  12. armani thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #13
    I will try new games and see what is going on. But what bothers me that the games won't run and exit after a minute of play or so. NFS underground was released in 2003 as I recall, so you are right it is close to 5 year old. I have Call of Duty 2, would that be fine? Still weird, what if I'd like to play these old games, they don't need much resources..... but I am not an expert.
     
  13. armani thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #14
    Thank you, but there is no check box for stretching. The video card does not have any utility, just simple one which windows provides. And as I said, I searched ATI web-site and found nothing so far. Interesting how this would work with NVidia card.
     
  14. armani thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #15
    OK, I bought two games, Halo (for Mac) and NFS Carbon (for PC). Both work OK, not too impressive, this is how I see it. Halo's setting are on max and I don't see lag. NFS Carbon lags a bit, if everything is on and max. But EA are so rediculous, there is no widescreen support, so I had to hack it and make it work with 1920x1200 resolution (though it does not look like it). But I have a feeling the game itself is not well made. When launched COD2 I have got an error, this is what I have got:
    File Handles:
    ----------------------
    53379 files in iwd files
    execing default_mp.cfg
    couldn't exec language.cfg
    ========= autoconfigure
    configure_mp.csv: using CPU configuration 2 GHz 512 MB
    execing configure_mp.cfg
    configure_mp.csv: using GPU configuration "Radeon"
    Measured CPU speed is 2.39 GHz
    System memory is 1024 MB (capped at 1 GB)
    Video card is "ATI Mobility Radeon HD 2600 XT"
    Streaming SIMD Extensions (SSE) supported

    Winsock Initialized
    Opening IP socket: localhost:28960
    Hostname: misha-42e610afc
    IP: 192.168.0.101
    ----- Initializing Renderer ----
    -------------------------------
    ----- Client Initialization -----
    ----- Client Initialization Complete -----
    ----- R_Init -----
    Getting Direct3D 9 interface...
    Pixel shader version is 3.0
    Vertex shader version is 3.0
    Direct3D 7 code path is available.
    Direct3D 9 code path is available.
    Using Direct3D 9 code path because it is the best available path on this hardware.
    Attempting 1024 x 768 fullscreen with 32 bpp at 60 hz
    Game window successfully created.
    Creating Direct3D device...
    Com_TouchMemory: 0 msec. Using sum: 0
    Initializing render targets...
    Requested frame buffer to be 24-bit color with 8-bit alpha
    DirectX returned a frame buffer that is 24-bit color with 8-bit alpha
    Initializing static model cache...
    Initializing dynamic buffers...
    Initializing particle cloud buffer...
    Creating Direct3D queries...
    Setting initial state...
    DirectX reports 512 MB of video memory and 705 MB of available texture memory.
    Using video memory size to cap used texture memory at 496 MB.
    Texture detail is set automatically.
    Using picmip 0 on most textures, 0 on normal maps, and 0 on specular maps
    Error during initialization:
    couldn't load material '$default'
     

Share This Page