SD Card (JetdriveLite/Storedge) and Power

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by MikePembo951, May 24, 2014.

1. MikePembo951 macrumors member

Hi,
    I have a MBA 2013 13" 8GB 128GB. I was thinking of increasing the space with a Transcend Jetdrive Lite 130 (128GB) or a PNY Storedge (128GB) and have a few questions:
    1) By how much do these SD cards decrease battery life? (I've heard it stops them sleeping). My MBA is on for at about 9-12 hours each day (it's my primary machine), and is left charging overnight.

2) How well does it cope when mounting the SD card after being put to sleep or when the lid is closed? Is it instantaneous? Would it affect programs such as iTune s if I had my iTunes library on the SD card and left iTunes open whilst sleeping?

3) What are the realistic speeds of the cards? Would it be possible to keep large programs on them (such as logic and Xcode) and still run them well?

Thanks
    Mike

2. Dweez macrumors 65816

Dweez

I have the 128 gig PNY card in my 2013 13" MBA and it's very seldom removed from the SD slot. The device is always there when I open the lid and bring the machine out of sleep.

I"m sure it has an impact on battery life, but have no data regarding that issue. My MBA goes to sleep just fine with the PNY card installed.

Performance - I get around 60 MB/s write and 90 MB/s read out of mine using an ExFAT filesystem. Slow compared to internal storage, but not an issue as mine is used for media and documentation.

Check this thread for more real world experiences.

3. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

Give this a read. Your MBA supports "standby mode" and goes into that mode after three hours sleep. If you have that SD card plugged in, it will still sleep but will not enter standby which gives far longer battery life when sleeping.

You are normally looking at around 1% battery drop per hour of normal sleep vs. up to thirty days of battery sleep in standby mode.

4. iizmoo macrumors 6502