Resolved SD card reader misbehaving.. :/

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Thrash911, Mar 24, 2014.

  1. Thrash911, Mar 24, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2014

    Thrash911 macrumors 6502

    Thrash911

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    Randers, DK
    #1
    Hello good people,

    As the sig says, late 2013 iMac. Running 10.9.2 (Mavericks).

    I have an annoying problem. When I insert an SDcard into the SDcard slot on the back of my iMac, the card does not show up on the desktop. If the machine is booting up with the card already inserted, it shows up every time! It's stupid having to reboot the whole system, when I have to use an SD card. I have tried with two different SD cards - both Kingston. This is very annoying, and "un-Apple".. I have googled this, so I know I'm not alone with this problem. I did not have this problem in 10.8.

    This is what I have tried so far, WITHOUT success:


    • Cleaned the SDcard slot (compressed air).
    • Resetting SMC.
    • Resetting PRAM.
    • Uninstalled quite a few apps, ex.:
      Wine, TeamViewer, Avast!, Little Snitch,
      Dropbox, Android File Transfer.
    • Running maintenance scripts and cleared caches with Onyx.
    • Checked 'System Information'.
      The slot shows up as 'Card Reader', with these details:
      Vendor ID: 0x14e4
      Device ID: 0x16bc
      Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x106b
      Subsystem ID: 0x0000
      Revision: 0x0001
      Link Width: x1
      Link Speed: 2.5 GT/s
    • Cursing loudly.

    Vmware Fusion and Parallels have been known to hijack the SDcard slot - none of these are installed. I guess I COULD reinstall the whole OS, but I'd rather not take such drastic measures, unless I really have to! Plus, then I would not know what the problem was..

    Could some of you have any suggestions, as to what I can do? Any thoughts? Anything, really.. :roll eyes: Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Macman45 macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #2
    what do you see in DU when the card is inserted but not visible? I know this is an old one, but have you checked finder preferences to make sure that each box is checked...IE: DVD, Externals etc...It's easy to miss.
     
  3. Thrash911 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Thrash911

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    Randers, DK
    #3
    Nothing. The card reader, nor the card is visible.

    Everything is checked. Keep in mind, I DO see it on the desktop, after I boot the machine with the card inserted.

    Thanks a lot for the suggestions! :)
     
  4. Macman45 macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #4
    What format is the card in? Just a wild one as this is baffling, I can only think that either something on the card itself to it's format is causing this.
     
  5. Thrash911 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Thrash911

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    Randers, DK
    #5
    Oh, indeed this is baffling.. :D It was in FAT. I freshly erased the card in Disk Utility, with 'Mac OS Extended (Journaled)'. But everything is still behaving the same. So.. Nothing to do with file-system on the card either.
     
  6. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #6
    [[ Could some of you have any suggestions, as to what I can do? Any thoughts? ]]

    Well, if nothing else seems to work for you, why not spend about $10, and get an external USB card reader?

    Yes, I -know- you're thinking "why should I have to do that when the Mac already -has- a card reader?"

    My rock-bottom philosophy regarding computing is:
    Find the solution that WORKS, then go with it.
     
  7. Thrash911 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Thrash911

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    Randers, DK
    #7
    Yes, I could do that. Personally, I'd reinstall everything from scratch first. Then, yes. Maybe.

    Dead-on, man! ;)

    Yes, well.. It does work now. Kind of.. Maybe you understand my hesitation for buying an external card reader right away.

    I don't use SD cards daily. Maybe weekly or even semi-weekly. So I could buy a card reader, or reboot the damn thing when I have to use an SD card. Judgement call. I don't know yet.

    Thanks. :)
     
  8. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #8
    Using the terminal, type the command:
    Code:
    ls -l /dev/disk*
    before and after inserting the disk. Are there any differences? Also type the command
    Code:
    mount
    before and after and look for differences. Post your findings.
     
  9. Thrash911, Mar 24, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2014

    Thrash911 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Thrash911

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    Randers, DK
    #9
    Thank you for trying to help me. Okay, here goes. I rebooted the machine, with NO card inserted.

    Typed the command "ls -l /dev/disk*". Output:

    Code:
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,   0 24 Mar 17:05 /dev/disk0
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,   3 24 Mar 17:05 /dev/disk0s1
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,   7 24 Mar 17:05 /dev/disk0s2
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,   5 24 Mar 17:05 /dev/disk0s3
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,   1 24 Mar 17:05 /dev/disk1
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,   2 24 Mar 17:05 /dev/disk1s1
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,   6 24 Mar 17:05 /dev/disk1s2
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,   4 24 Mar 17:05 /dev/disk1s3
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,   8 24 Mar 17:05 /dev/disk2
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,   9 24 Mar 17:05 /dev/disk3
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,  10 24 Mar 17:05 /dev/disk3s1
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,  11 24 Mar 17:05 /dev/disk3s2
    Typed the command "mount". Output:

    Code:
    /dev/disk2 on / (hfs, NFS exported, local, journaled)
    devfs on /dev (devfs, local, nobrowse)
    map -hosts on /net (autofs, nosuid, automounted, nobrowse)
    map auto_home on /home (autofs, automounted, nobrowse)
    /dev/disk3s2 on /Volumes/Time Machine (hfs, local, nodev, nosuid, journaled)
    //admin@LS-QVL41A/Buffalo on /Volumes/Buffalo (smbfs, nodev, nosuid, mounted by Thrash911)
    Now, I inserted the SD card. Waited 30 secs, and repeated both commands. Output was 100% identical.

    --

    I rebooted the machine, with card inserted. It appeared on desktop.

    Typed the command "ls -l /dev/disk*". Output (SD card on disk3):

    Code:
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,   0 24 Mar 17:13 /dev/disk0
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,   3 24 Mar 17:13 /dev/disk0s1
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,   7 24 Mar 17:13 /dev/disk0s2
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,   4 24 Mar 17:13 /dev/disk0s3
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,   1 24 Mar 17:13 /dev/disk1
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,   2 24 Mar 17:13 /dev/disk1s1
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,   6 24 Mar 17:13 /dev/disk1s2
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,   5 24 Mar 17:13 /dev/disk1s3
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,   8 24 Mar 17:13 /dev/disk2
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,   9 24 Mar 17:13 /dev/disk3
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,  10 24 Mar 17:13 /dev/disk3s1
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,  11 24 Mar 17:13 /dev/disk4
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,  12 24 Mar 17:13 /dev/disk4s1
    brw-r-----  1 root  operator    1,  13 24 Mar 17:13 /dev/disk4s2
    Typed the command "mount". Output (SD card on disk3):

    Code:
    /dev/disk2 on / (hfs, NFS exported, local, journaled)
    devfs on /dev (devfs, local, nobrowse)
    map -hosts on /net (autofs, nosuid, automounted, nobrowse)
    map auto_home on /home (autofs, automounted, nobrowse)
    /dev/disk3s1 on /Volumes/test (hfs, local, nodev, nosuid, journaled, noowners)
    /dev/disk4s2 on /Volumes/Time Machine (hfs, local, nodev, nosuid, journaled)
    //admin@LS-QVL41A/Buffalo on /Volumes/Buffalo (smbfs, nodev, nosuid, mounted by Thrash911)
    Then I ejected the SD card from desktop, and repeated the commands. Disk3 was missing from both. I re-inserted the SD card, waited 30 secs, and repeated the commands one more time. Disk3 was still missing. It failed to mount (as expected)..

    Does all this mean anything to you? Thanks again. ;)
     
  10. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #10
    Have you looked at the console when you insert and remove the SD card to see if it has any hints?
     
  11. Macman45 macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #11
    I'm thinking that this is a faulty card....It's all that's left.

    Try it in an identical machine if you can and se what happens,
     
  12. Thrash911 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Thrash911

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    Randers, DK
    #12
    No, just tried that now. I looked at "All Messages" under "SYSTEM LOG QUERIES". Nothing happens, when I insert the card. Am I looking in the right place?

    ----------

    I highly doubt that. :( It behaves like this with both Kingston cards. Actually, I found a third card just now. It's a Class 10, 30MB/s, SanDisk card. I use it in my camcorder. This card works (as does the other two).

    No can do, unfortunately. But all three cards work on my roommates PC, in my camcorder and in my 1541 Ultimate (C64 retro device). PLUS on the mac, if I reboot it with the card inserted.. Hehe..

    This is all a whole lot of weirdness.. Should I laugh or cry?! I'll laugh now. Cry later, maybe.. :D
     
  13. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  14. Thrash911 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Thrash911

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    Randers, DK
    #14
    "Normal" speed, I guess. But after reading your post, I have tried everything from very fast to very slow, while eyeballing the screen. But no change.. Thanks a lot for the idea, though! ;)
     
  15. Thrash911 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Thrash911

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    Randers, DK
    #15
    I solved it! I'm glad I didn't give up. :)

    It had nothing to do with ANY of the stuff mentioned in this entire thread so far.

    Please see this short video I made: http://youtu.be/EX-OAq7esVE

    If you just glance into the port with no extra light, it's damn near impossible to see! How did I get it out? Turned machine off (!!), and used a bent twist tie.

    Now it mounts the cards perfectly! Well.. One card does not work, even if plugged in during boot. Why? Because that's the card the plastic came from, so it can no longer press the little "activation" switch in the port. BUT I DON'T CARE about that one card! Now it works, and Mac life is good again!

    Thanks to all you guys, who tried to help me! ;)
     
  16. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #16
    It was worth a shot; inserting them too slowly causes problems, and if they worked on reboot...

    Good to hear that you sorted it out though :)
     
  17. Calpos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    #17
    this helped me in 2016! thanks
     
  18. Thrash911 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Thrash911

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    Randers, DK
    #18
    Fantastic! I'm glad it helped you! Posting the solution to your own problem, has paid off once again. Too many people don't do that, or they just write "Forget it, I solved it.". Then, 3 months later, a guy with the same problem screams into the monitor "GOOD FOR YOU!! HOW?????" :)
     
  19. Calpos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    #19
    very much so.. and i was scheduled to bring my mac in today actually.. and i decided to look to see if there was anyone with a similar situation.. and surprisingly enough i had a piece of plastic stuck in the right corner of the slot!! man was i excited to see it wasn't a problem with my mac!
     
  20. rktgirl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    #20
    I have signed up to say I think you are my Mac Superheor my sd slot has not been working for months thought I had a mac problem, tonight decided to look at it found your thread within 3 mins, found the broken piece of plastic within a minute, watched your youtube clip and felt your pain as you sighed at the end after all your painstaking efforts to solve the problem and said a huge thank you to you for saving me the stress…. then spent about 15 minutes getting the plastic out…. and it all works perfectly…. mine was in the bottom right corner…… THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!
     
  21. Thrash911 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Thrash911

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    Randers, DK
    #21
    Wow, you are very welcome. I'm glad you solved your problem. I'm extremely happy to see this thread is helping people like you! :)
     
  22. PowerGirl1 macrumors newbie

    PowerGirl1

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    #22
    OMG I Love you so much!!!! I thought my mac was faulty and hadnt been working for months. I had literally tried everything and was so angry. I ended up using an usb sd card adapter. And just when i needed it i had left it somewhere. So I had a look at my mac sd port again and somehow found this thread!! Words cannot describe how happy I am. the plastic was stuck in the left corner :mad: Relieved now that its gone . THANKYOU!!
     
  23. Thrash911 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Thrash911

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    Randers, DK
    #23
    How wonderful for you!! :) You're welcome. I'm so happy this is still helping people! Merry christmas, in a few weeks.. :D
     
  24. theonlyjms macrumors newbie

    theonlyjms

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    #24

    This still works in 2018!

    My SD card the front broke off and fell into the far back of the SD Slot on my iMac 5K. Imagine taking it to Apple to fix it!! It would have cost me a fortune! Thank you!
     

Share This Page