SD video in 1080p timeline?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by waloshin, Jul 12, 2016.

  1. waloshin macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #1
    I have a bunch of SD VHS transfers that I want to put on Blu-Ray am I better off putting the video in a SD time line in FCPX or in a HD timeline?

    Thanks
     
  2. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #2
    A HD timeline will only create large video files, and do nothing for video quality. Its subjective so you may have to try both. Usually the DVD player or TV can take SD material and make it look best (up-convert) for the specific monitor. If you think FCPX does a better job up-converting than the players/TV then it may be better that FCP does it.
     
  3. scottrngr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    #3
    If you are going to use FCP to do this in HD, make sure the setting is at 60fps. Otherwise it won't have the "video" look, but rather the "film" look, which doesn't look good on old VHS tapes.
     
  4. MacBH928 macrumors 68020

    MacBH928

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #4
    what about films that are on VHS like The Matrix?
     
  5. DemonMF777 macrumors member

    DemonMF777

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Location:
    S. Florida
    #5
    Buy them on Blu-Ray
     
  6. kohlson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #6
    Try a short test file first. You may run into issues with 4x3 v. 16x9 that you'll want to figure out first. Red Giant sells pretty good upscaling software. Takes a large amount of processing power. As suggested, maybe cheaper to buy new versions.
     
  7. scottrngr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    #7
    I thought you meant you were going to be transferring old vhs recordings you made, not trying to copy vhs movies. Back in the day, vhs movies were encoded with Macrovision, so you couldn't make your own bootleg tape copies. I don't know if you can record a vhs movie to your computer or not. Also, if this is your plan, why not just burn them to dvd? The picture quality on Blu-Ray isn't going to be any better.
     
  8. waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #8
    I am looking to transfer home movie VHS tapes not movies.
     
  9. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #9
    Thats what I thought you were doing. But as an aside, back in the day, there was $20 gizmos that remove macrovision very effectively. I extracted the video from a few disney VHS tapes that we had purchased and recorded them on DVD to be more handy for the kids and easier for them to handle.
     
  10. MarkMoran macrumors newbie

    MarkMoran

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #10
    Way better to use an HD sequence for this. The software is designed for it and your computer will have significntly more processing power, compared to an upscaling BluRay player.

    Like was mentioned earlier though, you'll want to make sure that you're not running into any weird interlacing artifacting, aspect ratio weirdness or framerate issues.

    I wouldn't use 60p though - it's overkill. 30p is going to be way better. You'll only be receiving 30fps from the video tape, whether in fields/frames, and using a 60p sequence results in double the data size and twice the processing time.
     

Share This Page