SDHC Sandisk card and my MBP '11

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Floris88, May 31, 2011.

  1. Floris88 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #1
    He guys,

    just bought a Nikon D5100 with a new SDHC card, but my macbook pro is not recognizing the card when I put it in de MBP?

    Do I need to reformat it or something?
     
  2. solodb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    #2
    SDHC Sandisk card and my MBP '11

    I had that same problem with the MacBook Pro I just bought.

    I used a little contact cleaner in the SD slot and now it reads and writes all the
    cards I have tried since then.

    Small shot is all that was needed.
     
  3. c1phr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    #3
    I've had the same issue happen with a 16gb SDHC that would only work part of the time on my MBP, but all the time on my brother's desktop. I'm assuming dirty contacts just as solodb
     
  4. twz22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    NoVA
    #4
    interesting. my 2010 iMac does the same thing. usually a reboot is needed to get it to read. haven't tried cleaning the slot. i figured it was an issue wuth the cards.

    should i have it looked at while under warranty?
     
  5. Floris88 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #5
    when I reboot the MBP it still doesnt read my card... the mbp is brand new :)
     
  6. solodb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    #6
    My MBP is less than 3 weeks old. I was getting ready to send it for repairs when I tried the contact cleaner.

    I had previously tried a 1, 2 and 4 Gig cards in mine. All did not show up. After the contact cleaner, all the cards are usable as well as a 16 Gig I bought over the weekend to put an OS on. I can now boot from that card.

    Maybe it is a coating left over from manufacturing, I don't know. I haven't had any trouble with SD cards since the cleaner.
     
  7. Floris88 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #7
    is contact cleaner a kind of liquid you throw in the port? how much do I need to put in there?
     
  8. Cheffy Dave macrumors 68030

    Cheffy Dave

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida, on the Gulf Coast in Homosassa Fl
    #8
    No, wipe the contacts on the card, never pour anything into a PC:eek:
     
  9. solodb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    #9
    I used QD Contact Cleaner made by CRC. Just a quick burst, you don't need to soak it.

    You do want to do it with the unit off. Dries almost instantly.

    I have used the same stuff on RAM and on logic board connectors in the past.
     
  10. Floris88 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #10
    drives me nuts...

    I cleaned the contacts of the card with a fine towel... but no,
     
  11. solodb, Jun 1, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2011

    solodb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    #11
    Cleaning the cards contacts won't do anything. The card already works in other equipment.

    The cleaning needs to be done on the contacts IN the SD Card slot. I am not sure if there is a polishing cloth you could use, but the contact cleaner works. At least for me.
     
  12. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #12
    Just for peoples reference as this is an old thread that comes up in google:

    I had the same issue. (2010 15" that is 15 months old and never used the SD card slot)

    I just kept inserting and removing the card until it mounted.

    Took about 10/15 inserts and removals before it showed up at all.

    But I did it another 10/15 times to ensure a decent connection.

    Works fine now.
     

Share This Page