SDK 2.0 confusion

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by MACloop, Apr 12, 2010.

  1. MACloop macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #1
    Hi,
    when logging into the developer.apple.com as developer I have noticed that the SDK 3.2 is the official software to use for developing for iPhone? Is this both for iPhone AND iPad? I read about the new stuff included in the 3.2 and saw that if you intend to develop for iPhone, you should still go on using the 3.1.3...? That made me abit confused. So, if I am a iPhone developer should I update to the SDK 3.2? Is it safe to do that? In the beta version of 3.2(I think it was 3.2) only development for iPad was possible? Could any one please clear that up for me? Of course I intend to use the leatest SDK for my development, but do not want to overwrite the current SDK with one only for iPad.
    Thanks in advance!
    MACloop
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    If you download 3.2 you can install the SDKs (note that XCode etc are 100% independent from the SDKs) for 3.0, 3.1.x and 3.2 and switch between them within your projects. You should only choose 3.2 as the SDK for an iPad target.
     
  3. MACloop thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #3
    ok, thanks for the answer! My conclusion is - if I want to develop for iPad I shuold dowload the new SDK otherwise it will work out with the old one. I suppose it will work out with the xcode aswell or do I have to seperately dowload the new version of Xcode? Sorry for those stupid questions but I think it is very unclear presented by apple on the developer center - why are they not seperating ipad and iphone a bit more distinct? That would be easier...at least for me...hmmm

    MACloop
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Download 3.2. It has the latest XCode, Interface Builder etc. The are not separating them as they want developers to develop for both platforms.
     
  5. MACloop thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    Ok, I will follow your advice.
    I know, I would like to develop for iPad to, but must wait till it come to germany ;-) I understand the idea though but have read alot about people having problems with SDKs being overwritten and I would like to avoid that if possible.

    So, I download and install the new SDK as normal and I do not have to care about seperate the already installed version on my MAC?

    MACloop
     
  6. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Just make sure you choose the SDKs you want in addition to the developer tools when you install.
     
  7. MACloop thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #7
    Ok, thanks alot (again) for the answer!
    MACloop
     
  8. MACloop thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    So, I have to make a custom installation?

    And I do not have to do this:
    (taken from the read-me file)
    By default, Xcode installs in /Developer with previous versions automatically upgraded. To keep a previously installed version of Xcode, you must either select "Custom Install" and specify a new <Xcode> directory, or rename the existing Xcode home directory ( /Developer ) before installing this new version. See step 4 below.
     
  9. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #9
    Why do you want to keep your old, outdated version of XCode. As I said above: the developer tools and the actual SDKs are not the same thing.
     
  10. MACloop thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #10
    I do not want to keep them... and I know that they are different things, but I just wanted to make sure that if I go on and install the SDK (comming as one package from the download) I may be able to go on with my development afterwards. Thats all
    MACloop
     
  11. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #11
    As I said: just make sure you include the correct SDK when you install. When I installed the 4.0 beta I forgot to include the 3.0 SDK. If you do this just re-run the installer and include the SDK you forgot.
     
  12. MACloop thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #12
    ...and in the download from the developer site, the xcode and the sdk3.2 are included. My question is actually (perhaps my question was a bit vague): Will this sdk3.2 overwrite my currently sdk3.1.2? If I understood your answers above this will not happend when installing the download? As I understand your answers I will, through the new xcode, be able to both use the sdk3.2 and the sdk3.1.2 in order to compile both iPhone and iPad applications? Am I right?
     
  13. MACloop thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #13
    Ah, ok thanks for the hint :)
    I go on installing it now.
    MACloop
     
  14. MACloop thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #14
    Again - thanks alot! It worked perfectly!
    MACloop
     

Share This Page