Seagate External Transplanted to new External Enclosure error Cannot Recognize Disc

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by apotheosis49, Mar 16, 2016.

  1. apotheosis49 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    #1
    I have an Expansion 2tb drive. The USB connection on the rear has been damaged. I took the external apart and removed the drive. I placed in an enclosure and get an error:

    The disk you inserted was not readable by this computer

    When I go back to the chip set inside the external and hold the contacts down that broke, the drive shows up just fine.

    Why is my mac having issues with the new enclosure having issues?
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    Perhaps Seagate sold you an external drive that has a modified SATA drive with the drive electronics as part of the enclosure, and not on the drive itself.
    So, the drive will only work in that enclosure. Standard SATA enclosures won't see the drive at all.
    (Just guessing... Could be you just had bad luck with the new enclosure that you bought. )
     
  3. apotheosis49 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    #3
    That is a fear I had as well. Proprietary hardware. But many show it removed, and used again. tried 2 enclosures, no dice.
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    You can search for the model number printed on the drive itself (the internal device!), and see what shows up for specs for the drive device. That may show you that it does not have a standard SATA interface.
     
  5. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #5
    I assume you tried to initialize/format it after you removed it from the enclosure. Might simply have a strange format on it from the enclosure?

    I have pulled 2TB 2.5" drives from Seagate Fast 4TB enclosures and used them on OS X because the external drive was cheaper than buying the 2TB bare drives enclosed within.
     
  6. apotheosis49 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    #6
    Funny thing is that its just a barracuda drive. One I bought for an internal on my old mac pro. Should be a standard SATA I'd imagine
    --- Post Merged, Mar 16, 2016 ---
    Trying to still access my data on the drive. The drive is full of my pro photos for a full year.

    If I hold contacts on OLD usb part(removed from external og inclosure), from old enclosure it works fine. But if I let it go, the contact breaks and turns off. So the HD it self is fine.
     
  7. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #7
    Can you somehow force the contact to connect long enough to extract your data from the external drive to another drive? Possibly hot-glue it in place.


    edit: see you already had that thought :)
     
  8. apotheosis49 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    #8
    I am thinking of holding it down and drenching it with hot glue. Since its not conductive.
     
  9. duervo macrumors 68000

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #9
    Stick it back on with chewing gum, or plumber's putty. When you get the data off, throw the enclosure in the garbage.
     
  10. apotheosis49 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    #10
    hahahah. riiiiiight.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 16, 2016 ---
    The drive won't mount but disc utility sees it. Its labeled after the enclosure, not the drive name it used to have. I can hit get info and I see this: any clues here for you pros?

    The drive was not full at all.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. duervo macrumors 68000

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #11
    Funny that you laugh, after planning to use hot glue.
     
  12. apotheosis49 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    #12
    So one USB port does work and shows that error. My other USB port does not show that error. WTF!?!?!
     
  13. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #13
    Simple
    Don't use that USB port. :D

    Seriously, however - try a couple of other devices (flash drives, etc), also different USB cables with the same case in that port.
     
  14. apotheosis49 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    #14

    If only one of them worked. Tried on older OSX mac, same thing. Can't event repair the drive. When in DU it shows a 250gb section, which makes no sense as the drive is 2tb.

    ....sighhh...looks like hot glue is my only option to salvage the current drive. And hope my cloud backup drive arriving sometime I hope soon has all the data I need.
     

Share This Page