seagate savvio drive swap

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bereda, Mar 11, 2009.

  1. bereda macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #1
    they a have a 36gb and 73gb 15k rpm drive and a 140gb 10k rpm drive that unfortunately is a scsi sas interface but im wondering if it would work with a scsi to sata connector...
     
  2. huussi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Location:
    finland
    #2
    Height: 14.8mm. Those drives won't fit in the MBP.
     
  3. bereda thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #3
    how big are the drives in or mbps? compared to that drive
     
  4. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #4
    9mm or 12mm (I can't remember which one).
     
  5. bereda thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #5
    if its 12 then maybe i can shave the botttom down on the savvio to 12 so it could fit, if it was possible how awesome would a 15k rpm drive be?
     
  6. huussi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Location:
    finland
  7. Chic0 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    this thread some kind of joke?

    :confused:
     
  8. bereda thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #8
    ummm no its not a joke if i was joking around why would i be asking if it was possible... ive shaved the bottome of a 3.5inch seagate down 2 mm to fit in to a case ive also shortened a drives length to fit... i own a machine mill
     
  9. bugout macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    is everything!
    #9
    Those drives are for servers..

    lol.. give it a whirl and let us know how it turns out.

    Or just get an SSD and get better performance without the headache.
     
  10. bereda thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #10
    haha yea i for gott about ssd's haha but they cost a ton but i might be able to fin one on ebay for not to much
     
  11. fteoath64 macrumors regular

    fteoath64

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #11
    The MBP has not got the voltage/amps to start these drives.Someone tested with the Raptor 300Gb 10K but it would not start on a laptop. Desktops are OK as the power supplies are rather beefy!. You probably can say bye-bye to those savvios..

    Go for cheaper SSDs and stack a few together with a sata port multiplier board to get the speed you want. It is easier to "stack and solder" sometimes.
     
  12. Chic0 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12

    Fair enough. i just didnt realise that kind of thing would be possible.

    Be interested to know how you get on with this this little mission
     

Share This Page