seamlessly looping ringtones?

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by Bhang, Mar 27, 2015.

  1. Bhang macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #1
    Unless I'm missing something IOS does not support seamlessly looping ringtones. Not only is it a convoluted mess to get custom created ringtones into the Iphone, it can't even loop them seamlessly? My 10 year old Nokia does this without a hitch.
    :(
     
  2. gordon1234 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #2

    Apple's max ringtone length is 40 seconds. Most carriers don't let your phone ring for more than 30 seconds before sending to voice mail. In other words, if you really want a ringtone with no pauses in it, just create an audio file with your preferred tone playing continously for 40 seconds, and it will never loop.
     
  3. Bhang thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #3
    I know I can do that, but its a waste of space and a big step backwards IMO. IOS is just backwards when it comes to creating your own ringtones.
     
  4. mKTank macrumors 68000

    mKTank

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    #4
    This isn't 2001; this obsession with ringtones has mostly died down. That's why they're not really giving it much thought.

    That, and I think they have a thousand more important things to fix before wasting their time on ringtones.
     
  5. gordon1234 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #5
    seamlessly looping ringtones?


    A waste of space? We're talking a file less than one 1 MB. You could fit it on a floppy disk with room to spare.

    Anyway, if it's that bad, by all means, go back to your old Nokia. If it doesn't work, you can find them on eBay real cheap. For some reason, they just aren't in demand anymore…
     
  6. cmichaelb macrumors 68020

    cmichaelb

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    Kansas
    #6
    I'm not trying to be snippy, so please excuse me if I come across that way.

    How is it a convoluted mess? I've had no problem creating custom ringtones. I even ripped audio files(mp3 format) from a iOS app and converted them into ring tones easily.

    I'm trying to understand why you think it is convoluted.
     
  7. Bhang thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #7
    Maybe there is an easier way and I would love to know if there is, but to my knowledge with the newest Itunes on Mac, you have to go through a bunch of steps, some of which are kind of loopy, in order to make a ringtone.
    1) take audio file and convert to AAC. Next locate said file and change extension from MP4 to MPR. Next delete the original file from itunes and finally drag and drop the ringtone into ringtones in Itunes. The looping segment would be similarly time consuming so I left it out. However, the method above does not work 100% of the time and sometimes takes 2 or 3 tries before it takes.
    This compared to just selecting any MP3 or WAV file on a Nokia is quite time consuming and really not very convenient. If there is a quicker way to do this please share.
    And you do not come across as snippy. I hope I don't come across as too brash. I just find myself wasting hours on stupid little things like this instead of getting work done.
     
  8. cmichaelb macrumors 68020

    cmichaelb

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    Kansas
    #8
    No, that makes sense. I use iTunes to do the conversion, delete the files, move the folder to my desktop, select all and batch rename then reimport.

    Sounds exactly like what you do. I agree- having to reformat takes more time I just don't find it takes very long.

    Maybe the difference is I use iTunes import settings to convert the file. They all get converted in one big batch, then rename them in one big batch.

    A great example is the iSamJackson app. I took all of the mp3 clips and dumped into iTunes to convert them all at once, then pulled them out, batch renamed them, and reimported them. I've never had any issue unless I forget to delte them from the library after conversion.
     
  9. Bhang thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #9
    Thanks for the reply. I now this whole thread is over inflated. Its a culmination of all of the issues with OSX. Yosemite is buggier than I remember in my time with Apple, which is quite a long time. Half of the time the ringtone creation process just will not work. It won't let me drag the new file in as a ringtone. I start over and it works. Its just frustrating that things have gotten so messy in OSX land. Its a daily occurrence. The latest is my wallpaper resetting after disconnecting external monitors. Easy fix, however it still takes time to look up whats going on. Before this it was HDMI to HDMI looking horrible. I always find a fix, but I spend way too much time fixing things that should just work. Sorry for the venting.
     
  10. cmichaelb macrumors 68020

    cmichaelb

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    Kansas
    #10
    lol n orpoblem. I'm using Yosemite and other than the occasional wallpaper issue I have no issues. HDMI to HDMI sometimes goes red tint on me and I just unplug the cable and plug it back in and it fixes it.

    I'm using a 2012 Mac mini, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD and 1TB HDD.

    As for ringtones, I've never had an issue as long as I remove them from my library before importing the ring tone.
     
  11. Bhang thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #11
    Really. I have a lot of problems and its a brand new MBP. Sometimes it freezes on shutdown. Get black screen and have to force quite. I have now been trying for 3 days to download the latest update and it hangs, or is just going unbelievably slow. Time machine issues as well. I'm glad things are working for you, envious actually.;)
     

Share This Page