Search bar bug

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by nmeed, Sep 19, 2015.

  1. nmeed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    #1
    Is it just me or is the search bar in Proactive sometimes at the top of the screen with the signal bars? Also, I feel like so there's a lot of lag and sometimes swipes don't register. Never had these issues on 8.4.1.
     
  2. nmeed thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    #2
    Anyone? To make it clearer...when you swipe to the right to get the proactive screen, the search field up top sometimes is shifted upwards to the status bar that has the cellular signal strength.
     
  3. perkedel macrumors 6502a

    perkedel

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Location:
    California
    #3
    haven't seen it. when reporting UI bug/anomaly, you really should take a screenshot.
    I've only seen where swipe left to spotlight overlay the home screen, this happened only once after initial update. probably the lag was caused by indexing of some such.
     
  4. nmeed thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    #4
    I hope this illustrates the issue better...
     

    Attached Files:

  5. nmeed thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
  6. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #6
    Likely not. I think I came across someone mentioning something like that in one of the iOS 9 threads. Just one of a number of visual glitches that can exist here or there.
     
  7. nmeed thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    #7
    Guess it's not as widespread though as I thought which makes me scared apple won't fix it.
     
  8. E3BK macrumors 68020

    E3BK

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    I have a different gfx bug. Only happens when I swipe down but not swipe right.

    image.png
     
  9. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #9
    But not always or even often, right?
     
  10. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #10
    It happened in earlier beta builds (way more often) and got fixed I think in DP 5 and PB 3 (maybe it was DP 4 and PB 2?)

    It has shown up again now in the release, but it's not even close to as often as it used to be. When it happened in the beta usually swiping down the old spotlight search and dismissing it would fix the alignment issue for the new proactive search screen to the left.
     
  11. perkedel macrumors 6502a

    perkedel

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Location:
    California
    #11
    That's the glitch I experienced that I mentioned above ! Happened only once so far for me. I swiped left not down though.
     
  12. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #12
    Not encountered this on my iPhone 6 Plus.

    image.png
     
  13. E3BK macrumors 68020

    E3BK

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
    Not a persistent glitch, no. A reboot fixes it for a while. I had in a previous beta of iOS 9 and then I went to 9.1 and forgot about it. I went back to 9.0GM and have seen it a couple times since. I guess they hadn't fixed it from the beta but caught it in time for 9.1 so that's good.
     
  14. nmeed thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    #14
    The glitch that was posted I have ran into myself on two occasions. I'm not quite sure how to illicit it, but it definitely is there. In regards to the glitch I posted about, it's not there always. Open an app and then open the task switcher. Now, swipe up to close said app. Now go to the Proactive screen and I'm pretty sure the search bar is going to be up at the cellular signal strength bar (status bar?). To move it back to it's proper space, swipe down to get the notification center and that will be that. I'm not sure if it's specific to the iPhone 6 and/or to those but it's there for me.
     
  15. Orlaam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    #15
    I have seen what the OP is describing on both my 5S's. Yes it happens. I swear I saw this elsewhere in 7 or 8. Maybe with YouTube when that iOS first came out. It was fixed.

    I'm sure it'll be fixed eventually. Not a showstopper and I have it happen maybe 30% of the time.
     
  16. hicolra86 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    #16
    I have the same issue on 5s.
    What is going on with Apple?
     

    Attached Files:

  17. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #17
    I've had that on my 5S but it's rare. Frankly I'm kind of used to those UI glitches since iOS 7. Lol
     
  18. Solver macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #18
    I can make this problem happen on an iPod touch if I toggle reduce transparency on and back off.
    It is fixed completely if I restart my device. That is unless I do the above again.
     

Share This Page