Search box in Dreamweaver

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by sk3pt1c, Nov 14, 2007.

  1. sk3pt1c macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #1
    i've noticed some DW templates have the search box built in, but how would i go about adding one to a page i'm making from scratch?
    also, how exactly does that work?
    does the web hosting provider have to do something to enable the search function or does DW add the functionality on its own?
    this is my first time adding a search box, so please bare with me.
    thanks!
     
  2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    There's many ways to go about doing searching. You can build your own search engine with PHP and MySQL, some service providers might offer the capability, or you could use Google as your search engine, which is what I'm currently doing. Google has a custom search engine (CSE) that you can use that will give you the code to place the search box on your page and tell you how to setup a search results page that'll place the results there, rather than at Google's site.

    There are some other ways too, and a lot of them are hard work, which is why I've settled with Google for now. There's a number of third party installs you can do too, but cost varying amounts of money.
     
  3. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #3
    wow, that looks interesting to say the least!

    so you can use that to have users search your own site, right?

    thanks a lot man!
     
  4. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Yuppers as long as Google has the site indexed. It doesn't update as much as I'd like, but still does well. This also means recent changes won't be included generally. Haven't tested this thoroughly. You can take a quick look at my site where I have it implemented (site accessible under my profile) it's at the top of my navigation. The search field is customizable and my results page looks a little ugly, but it is customizable and I just haven't gotten back to make it look better.
     
  5. yagran macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Brighton, East Sussex, UK
    #5
    if Google CSE doesn't cut it for you you could have your own search engine powered by something like Tipue, which you can update manually or create a small javascript file to cache your site into the xml file.
     
  6. ChicoWeb macrumors 65816

    ChicoWeb

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #6
  7. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #7
    i think i will give tipue a go with a test page or something of the sort.
    thanks guys.
    any more suggestions?
    google cse still looks nice though
     
  8. nimbuscloud macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #8
    That's really cool.

    Can you take the "Google Custom Search" logo off the search box area? I'd like to do this for a college website, but I don't want a big "GOOGLE" on the front page.

    :apple:
     
  9. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    Google adds that watermark in their JavaScript, which just controls the CSS for that element. You should be able to use CSS to override it. You may have to add the "!important" component to the end of the CSS statement though to make sure Google's code doesn't override it. I haven't tested this to see if it works though. It's not that horrible looking though.

    Edit:
    I just confirmed that CSS can override the Google watermark. Just do something like,
    Code:
    input { background-image: none !important; }
     
  10. nimbuscloud macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #10
    UBER!!!!
    THANK YOU!!!
    :apple:
     

Share This Page