"Searching for media" - log and capture

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by woofdine, Jun 19, 2008.

1. woofdine macrumors newbie

Dear All,

I'm a bit of an amateur when it comes to all the technical stuff, but having to take care of it as we're on travelling while filming and want to back all our tapes up onto an external hard drive. I'm trying to log and capture our filmed tapes from our Sony A1, through my Macbook (not Pro) to a Western Digital 320 GB My Passport Hard Drive. The camera is connected with a Sony i-Link cable and we're using Final Cut Pro 6.0.

When setting the tape to log, each start/stop was creating a new section in the logging bin. Further to this on many clips a number of seconds were missed at the beginning of each shot. When watching the computer as it logged, it would come up with the text "Searching for media" in the capture window every now and then and on further inspection, it was at these points that we were losing footage.

So I've tried logging the tape as a whole by unchecking the "Create new clip on Start/Stop" box in Clip Settings (which oddly involved checking the box and capturing, then re-unchecking the box and capturing) and all seemed well. That was until we came back and found a number of different sections again, but this time less than there were before and each break at the points at which it had began "searching for media", so we still lost the same seconds of footage.