Second display not working on Windows 7 64 bit

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MrBond007, Jun 20, 2011.

  1. MrBond007 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Hi All

    I've just bought a new MacbookPro with Radeon HD6490M graphics card.

    I’m running Windows 7 64bit on it.

    After installing Win7, I ran all the boot camp drivers from the supplied disk.

    It all works very well except I can’t for the life of me getmy second monitor working.

    I bought a mini display port to VGA adapter which then plugsdirectly into my monitor.

    When the system boots, the OS logo appears on both screensso all looks well, but then ‘no input signal’flashes up on my second monitor and it goes black.

    When I look in ‘screen resolution’, I can extend my desktopto my monitor (it detects that it’s there and even knows that it’s an HPL2045W). The mouse arrow will also go off the screen, so my Macbook obviouslythinks it’s working.

    I’ve tried updating the driver and that all looks fine andit says that everything is up to date and working well.

    I’m at a total loss and not sure what to do next.

    I’m fairly certain that it’s a software issue as I Mac OSXworked OK on both screens.

    One other point - I stupidly installed Windows thinking I'd add OSX later down the line (as all my Applications are currently for Windows). Could it be that I have to have OSX installed to make the dual monitor work and if so, can I install it after having installed Windows? I've tried and it doesn't like the partitioned NTFS or exFAT disk space I allocated for OSX.

    You help would be much appreciated.
     
  2. awer25 macrumors 65816

    awer25

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #2
    Sounds like the computer may be outputting a resolution that the monitor can't handle - that's why it initially works before the VGA driver starts, but then goes out. See if you can find a way to change the resolution on the 2nd screen, or lower the resolution on the laptop since the VGA out may just mirror the main display.
     
  3. MrBond007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Hi

    Thanks for your suggestion, but even lowering down to 800px x 768px does nothing.

    Weirdly, the resolution window does pick up the monitors optimum display (1650x1050) and suggests that that us used. Also, the green light is on on the monitor suggesting that it thinks it's switched on as usually after the 'no input signal' message it will black out and go orange.

    All very odd. It definitely works with OSX so it could only be a Radeon Windows 7 driver support issue. I'd just go and try a DVI output instead, but have purchased a Matrox Dual Head2Go Digital Edition with VGA input and DVI outputs, so would ideally like to get that up and running. It too has the same issues as just plugging the monitor in.
     
  4. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #4
    I've had troubles before when trying to use VGA output at such a high resolution. When I got the Apple DVI adapter with my new Mini, I hooked that up to the iMac and my Dell monitor and now it works like a charm.
     
  5. MrBond007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Well, I think I may try wiping the MacBook, installing OSX from fresh first of all and then adding Windows 7 after so long as the performance won't be impaired like it was using Parallels 6.

    It's a real hassle and if I still have no joy, then will ditch the Matrox and have to make do with a monitor and laptop screen.

    It's a shame as I wanted to use the Macbook as a base unit and only as a laptop if I was working from away from home.

    I know they aren't really designed to support Windows OS, but I'm a bit disappointed in Apple as it's a basic problem that should really work. I thought Macs were supposed to be hassle free!
     
  6. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #6
    Monitor doesn't understand either the display mode or the refresh rate. VGA, really? People still use that?

    Mine are DVI and never an issue.
     
  7. MrBond007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Do you run windows on your machine too?

    I wouldn't be using VGA, but found a cheap Matrox box on eBay that had VGA input so thought I'd go down that route. It does seem odd having 1 VGA input and two DVI outs.
     
  8. austimus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    #8
    I had this EXACT SAME PROBLEM, litteraly to the "T", all but the same brand monitor.
    HERES HOW U FIX IT:
    - screw mini display port to vga, get one that is either to dvi or hdmi and get a dvi or hdmi cable. Solves issue, easy, done, and good riddance.
    Thanks so much for the people ahead of me who said DVI works
     
  9. MrBond007 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #9
    Nice one.

    I gave up in the end, sold the matrox and bought a USB-Monitor adapter which works fine and costs a lot less than a Matrox.
     

Share This Page