Second internal HD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kremer4, Feb 24, 2009.

  1. kremer4 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    #1
    Hmm, now I can afford a 128GB SSD hard drive for booting and make my 500GB the second hard drive... Do you think this is a sacrafice worth making :confused:

    http://www.mcetech.com/optibay/
     
  2. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    haha you sure you wanna do that?? loose access to your superdrive (in the sense that its external).

    it would be nice to have though, but if your just going to have the OS on the SSD then why dont you just settle for a cheaper 32gb/16gb one??
     
  3. kremer4 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    #3
    I'd wanna keep my iphoto gallery (17GB right now, I have 2 kids:)) on the SSD. I would use the second drive for bootcamp (Vista x64, 120GB paritition) and the rest an extra partition for Leopard.

    So far I have never used the CD drive outside of my house so I don't think that would be an issue. Supposedly this also shaves a 1/4 lb of the laptop weight.

    Hmm, I might try it
     
  4. kgeier82 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #4
    Will bootcamp even install on a second drive? If you dont use your SD, and want more space go for it.

    Me personally, I dont think its worth the money. Not to mention most times Im not mobile, so I just hook up the 3TB externals ;)
     
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    im actually pretty jealous. my dvd drive doesnt work so its just wasted space. can you fit a laptop HD into it haha??

    go for it!
     
  6. kremer4 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    #6
    Yeah bootcamp will work on the second drive. You can even make it your primary boot drive. But your right it is alot of money. Unless I can get a 128GB SSD for a good deal I wouldn't go for it.
     
  7. denny14 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #7
    Does this make sense for RAID1?

    Would this enable setting up the two disks in a RAID 1 manner? That is, a mirror of each other.
    How would performance be impacted?

    Very interesting I think.
     
  8. be300test macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    #8
    wow, i never thought of checking this site for unibody support.

    thanks op!

    ill be putting 500gb in :D

    ssd + hdd

    never use superdrive anyway :p
     
  9. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #9
    if you have both as identical drives then i guess you could. performance wouldnt be that impacted, but power consumption would be (especially if they are both the spinning HDs)
     
  10. denny14 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #10
    That makes sense to me. I am new to mac. I guess the OS can be configured to handle RAID like this? When one of the drives fails, do you get a notice? When you have to replace one, how do you make it a mirror? Is this an automatic thing?
     
  11. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #11
    yes the OS can handle it. when you install leopard onto it you can setup the RAID (software RAID only on a laptop im afraid).

    not sure about drive failure notices, never had a drive failed haha.

    when you replace it im guessing you can tell it that its the replacement.
     
  12. harry454 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #12
    yeah, not bad idea, wondered if apple could make the the air superdrives work with it
     

Share This Page