Second machine advice needed

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by zzzuppp, Jun 25, 2007.

1. zzzuppp macrumors member

My family has been happily sharing a G4 with OSX 10.3.9 for the last few years,but the time has come to invest in a second machine.
    I'm looking at a Mac mini,just for affordability sake (unless someone can convince me that there's something more suitable for our needs-read on.I am going to have to get another monitor,so that might affect the issue.).I'm assuming it'll ship with the latest OS,and be faster than the G4.But there's various things I need to know:-
    My partner only really uses web browsers (Safari) and word processing software(Word,Mail etc),she's content with that and doesn't want to change. My son and I use a great deal more-music (I'm a pro musician),movies,photos,games,all kinds of software,and my share of the Gbs in use is way ahead of my partner.
    Q1-Would she be better off with the G4 or the Mini?

Q2-OK I'm a comparative layman with regard to computer knowhow,and obviously we are going to need to transfer files from one computer to the other.I already have a separate HD attached to the G4,which will become mine of necessity.Is it as straightforward as copying everything I need onto the separate HD and adding that to my computer (whichever it is?).Can I do this with Apps that I've paid for,etc? Or do I have to rebuy/reinstall them on a new computer?

Q3 At the moment we have a single USB ADSL internet connection.What is the best thing to do to get connection for two machines? (NB we live in a remote part of the UK countryside with barely 0.5 Gb coming down the broadband wire,which isn't going to get updated)

Q4 Can you burn CDs/DVDs on a Mac Mini?

2. Lovesong macrumors 65816

Lovesong