Second Phone Line

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Wirenut, May 13, 2017.

  1. Wirenut macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    #1
    What are my options for a second phone line thru an iPhone? I need to get a business phone line but don't want to carry a second phone. I know that I can't get it the normal way via the cell radio (which is unfortunate) but I have heard that there are apps that can do it.

    Has anyone used these apps? Have recommendations?
     
  2. noobinator macrumors 603

    noobinator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
  3. andiwm2003 macrumors 601

    andiwm2003

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    T-Mobile is supposed to release "digits" soon. It's in beta now but it is supposed to combine 2 numbers via the phone line, not via VoIP (which sucks most of the time). I'm waiting for that. If it's good I'll switch to T-Mobile.
     
  4. Analog Kid macrumors 601

    Analog Kid

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    #4
    I really wish Apple would offer "Fast User Switching" for iPhone for exactly this reason...

    LineUp isn't bad, but I don't think it's what you're looking for. It gives you a second cell and text number, but it's probably not what you want for a business line.
     
  5. Wirenut thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    #6
    I need a second line to use for business only. I want it to be able to call and text with it. Basically, two completely separate lines in one phone.

    I see so many people carrying 2 cell phones. I can't believe that there are no 2 line cell phones in 2017.
     
  6. noobinator macrumors 603

    noobinator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #7
    If you want to use two sims There are but they Aren't iPhones. They are android phones.
     
  7. maxjohnson2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
  8. Wirenut thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    #9
    Is this method reliable? Would you trust it for a business in which you need to receive every call? This may have been a long time ago, but I thought I read directly on Google's website that Google Voice wasn't for business or anything important that needed high reliability.
     
  9. maxjohnson2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
    #10
    Probably not, you have to manually enable incoming calls and have decent data at all time to ensure good calling quality.

    You're gonna need to look at Android devices for dual sim, but that means leaving Apple. So T-Mo Digits may be the solution since it's available for iOS.
     
  10. jljue macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Location:
    Brandon, MS
    #11
    Try Sideline. I port my old house landline number to it, and it actually uses your phone's cellular signal Nostradamus of treating it like a VoIP call.
     
  11. noobinator macrumors 603

    noobinator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #12
    I love auto correct! :)
     
  12. vrBrew Suspended

    vrBrew

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Location:
    High life, High times
    #13
    use google voice for your business. You can also buy a domain and tie to to google mail/drive/apps if you want to host a ecommerce.
     
  13. lugworm macrumors 6502

    lugworm

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    I can highly recommend the Oneplus 3t. It has a very useful twin sim feature.
     

Share This Page