Seconday Screen/Monitor/Display mirroring application needed

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by rednectar, Jul 5, 2010.

1. rednectar macrumors newbie

I'm an instructor. I teach all day long, using the secondary display on my MacBook Pro as the display screen. The problem is, I don't have eyes in the back of my head, so I can't see the secondary display behind me. Now while I'm presenting slides, I usually don't have a problem, I can use "presenter view" to see the slides. But the moment I want to show an application, or display a web site on the secondary screen I have to turn my head around (which is unforgivable in a class, especially if you speak at the same time) to see the screen.

I need an application that "mirrors" in a window, the contents of the secondary display/screen/monitor.

In my pre-macintosh days, I could use Ultra-mon, but they don't have a Macintosh version. I asked.

Is there a Mac application that will allow me to do this? I'd love to buy it if it is out there.

2. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

SnowLeopard2008

Why can't you just mirror the MBP screen in System Preferences? That way, the secondary display is an exact replica of your MBP screen. Pixel for pixel.

3. brucem91 macrumors 6502

I currently do not have a mdp dongle, so I can't test this, but I think that if you put the display preferences in the menu bar, if two monitors are detected, it should allow you to switch between mirrored and extended from the menu bar. If not, well, you could go to display settings in sys prefs, and just minimize when not in use.

4. rednectar thread starter macrumors newbie

More Info: