Secondhand Macbook Pro or Macbook Air?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by cupcake86, Dec 15, 2009.

1. cupcake86 macrumors newbie

Hi guys

I'm new to this forum and to macs in general and was wondering if you could help me.

I'm looking to buy a new laptop - I'm studying (humanities) so use it for word processing, browsing and some limited indesign, etc. I take the laptop to uni and the library, etc. so portability is an issue. I've just been offered a couple of secondhand laptops and am not sure which one is better/the better deal? I guess I'm concerned that the Pro is quite old and perhaps getting towards the end of its life?

* MacBook Pro 15", 2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 1GB RAM, 120GB Hard Disk,
    SuperDrive, Bluetooth, Airport, Mac OS X 10.4 inc iLife 06. Model # A1211 (Late 2006) - $660

* MacBook Air w SuperDrive (original release with the 64GB solid state hard disk) - $1100

Thanks in advance x

2. combat macrumors member

combat

If you are looking for portability and good price, then maybe you should buy on of the newer polycarbonate ones. A new Macbook (not pro) would have much better specs, battery/computer life, and would not be that more expensive. And (drum roll) Snow Leopard! Tiger is awesome, however I personally think buying a newer computer would be better.

However, if you are limited to those two, I'm thinking the Air is best for your needs.

3. ian.maffett macrumors 6502

ian.maffett

4. 1rottenapple macrumors 65816

that mba is too much... totally NOT worth the 1100 since its painfully slow. i mean painfully. I went from rev A mba, to rev b mba, and now a 13 mbp. if you are willing to spend close to 1100 for a computer, then I would definitely recomment getting a refurbished 13in mbp or a student discounted macbook from apple $950, i think.