security bug, unlock phone without passcode

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by DenverSquare, Oct 27, 2011.

  1. DenverSquare macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    #1
    I just inadvertently stumbled on this bug checking out the new quick camera access feature - I think there is a bug that lets you bypass using the passcode to unlock the phone! Tried a couple ways to see if I could recreate it, and it works every time - as long as the "camera roll" album is empty when you start the process. 1. start with the phone locked. 2. double click home button and click the camera icon 3. take a picture with the volume up button. 4. click the picture thumbnail to see the picture you just took. 5. delete the picture you just took by clicking the trash can and confirming delete. 6. The resulting screen will /say/ phone is locked, but if you click the home button once, you get the main home screen with access to all apps! Can anyone else recreate this?
     
  2. ScottW1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    #2
    Nope.

    Followed exactly to step 6, where screen with camera logo says "No Photos..." and that iPhone is locked. Hitting Home button takes me directly to the LOCK SCREEN.
     
  3. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    This has been brought up ... check your passcode timeout.
     
  4. canucksfan88, Oct 27, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2011

    canucksfan88 macrumors 6502a

    canucksfan88

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #4
    i can confirm this works.
    you have to hit the home button really fast (immediately after you delete the photo or as it is transitioning to the trash). i was able to get to the homescreen with full access. this is with my timeouts set to 1 minute and 5
     
  5. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    Did you wait longer than the timeout before you tried it?
     
  6. silver8ack macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    #6
    There's a fix. Don't use a security code.

    I don't see the point of it anyway. My phone is attached to me though so I don't see any need to lock it. It seems to be an annoyance.
     
  7. Manzanas macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
  8. canucksfan88 macrumors 6502a

    canucksfan88

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #8
    it only works if your timeout is not set to instant. most people i know have theirs on instant so i dont think this is an issue.

    i dont even have a passcode on mine
     
  9. elistan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Denver/Boulder, CO
    #9
    Are you SURE that your phone was prompting for the passcode prior to starting this process? The "Your phone is locked" screen is simply saying that your phone is locked - it doesn't imply that you phone requires a key (ie, passcode) to unlock. Try the process again, but next time make sure your phone is asking for a passcode by swiping the unlock button to the right and seeing what it does.
     
  10. HazyCloud macrumors 68030

    HazyCloud

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #10
    The more I use my iPhone, the more personal info it gets. Since I use a passcode, if I lose it I can have it formatted via iCloud.com before someone could even get in it. On top of that, if someone tries to get in my phone 10 times, the phone formats itself.

    The passcode seems like a hassle at first, but now it doesn't even phase me.
     
  11. 700-Grizz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    ALASKA
    #11
    I just tried this too----and it bypassed my lock screen and went to home page--Hmmmm!

    Oh and my camera roll is not empty either--has several pictures in there
     
  12. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #12
    Make sure your passcode it set to lock "immediately " rather than 5 minutes.

    This has been debunked several times.
     
  13. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #13
    This has already been discussed. The screen timeout and the password lock timeout are two different settings, make sure you set your password lock to either immediately or at a shorter timeframe. Also, next time you find something like this, search the forum.
     
  14. 700-Grizz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    ALASKA
    #14
    Thanks for nothing Genious---Mine is set to Immediatly and it still does it

    ----------

    There is no Debunk to it!! I can bypass my passcode just like OP says
    Its set to Immediate
     
  15. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #15
    obviously its not. You don't have special software.

    ----------

    [​IMG]
    Lockscreen Camera Shortcut

    [​IMG]
    Camera App

    [​IMG]
    Lockscreen Camera Library

    [​IMG]
    Home Button Pressed

    [​IMG]
    Autolock Settings

    [​IMG]
    Passcode Lock Settings

    Notice how they both have unique time limits? By default the passcode lock setting is set higher than the auto lock setting. So you may have auto lock set to 1 min, but your passcode lock could be set to 5 mins.
     
  16. DenverSquare thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    #16
    I think gentle fury is right - thanks for explaining it. I guess I was confused by the different time-out times. I mistakenly thought that every time I locked the phone with the power button I had to use the passcode to get back in. But it's only after the passcode lock timeout window. So - question about bug retracted. It's not a bug - it's a feature! :D
     
  17. 700-Grizz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    ALASKA
    #17
    Nope Auto lock 1-minute

    Passcode set to Immediate, No joke
     
  18. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #18
    Jailbreak? That would be the only possible way...unless you somehow got a special OS that nobody else has.
     

Share This Page