Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jmorgan76

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 30, 2010
Titusville, FL
I am new to jailbreaking and was wondering if I should have concerns about my iPhone data/info being more vulnerable to hacking. Should I be concerned? What kinds of mods/apps should I stay away from to keep my iPhone secure?

ZCherub

macrumors 6502a
Jul 7, 2010
GA, USA
I am new to jailbreaking and was wondering if I should have concerns about my iPhone data/info being more vulnerable to hacking. Should I be concerned? What kinds of mods/apps should I stay away from to keep my iPhone secure?

You're fine. If you install OpenSSH or some other SSH tool, make sure you change the default Root password and you'll be alright.

Dwalls90

macrumors 603
Feb 5, 2009
If a phone is jailbreakable, it means that there remains an (difficult to locate) exploit in the version of iOS, even without the jailbreak.

You only "open" up your system by installing OpenSSH, leaving it enabled at all times, and by not changing the default password.

Just be smart as you would with anything else security wise.

jmorgan76

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 30, 2010
Titusville, FL
What is OpenSSH?

Just wondering what OpenSSH is? Is that a app? Which password are you guys referring to?
My main reason for jail breaking is to get MyfI in my iPhone and Hulu on my ATV 2.
I'm sure once its jailbroken I'll want to make other mods though :)

I appreciate all your advice....

Dwalls90

macrumors 603
Feb 5, 2009
Just wondering what OpenSSH is? Is that a app? Which password are you guys referring to?
My main reason for jail breaking is to get MyfI in my iPhone and Hulu on my ATV 2.
I'm sure once its jailbroken I'll want to make other mods though :)

I appreciate all your advice....

It allows you to directly transfer files to and from the iOS filesystem over a network.

Google for more info.

Netherscourge