Security concerns

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by freshstart14, Jun 7, 2014.

1. freshstart14 macrumors newbie

Hi everyone,

I'm rather new to Macs as a whole despite owning a Macbook pro for the past 3 years.

I have a MacBook Pro that I've been using for my work but recently, my partnership's soured and we've parted ways. I kinda made the mistake of leaving my Mac in the office while I went out to get some things done. I told my ex-partners that they could delete the mails in Entourage to make sure I wasn't taking away business from them but that's all they had access to as the Mac was mine.

What basically happened was that when I came back a few hours later, they told me they had to re-build the database to see what I've deleted. They tried transferring data out of Entourage but were seemingly unsuccessful.

So, now that that's all been done and said, I'm kind of suspicious of what else they might have done on my Mac while I was away. I know they've always been keen on some other stuff on my database, how can I tell if my Mac's been hacked and they've gone through all my stuff and made duplicates? Is this even legal?

2. Idarzoid macrumors 6502

Legal or illegal, no idea, but you gave him access to the machine, you probably won't have much of a ground to stand on if/when you decide to do something about it but I can't say much more about this, I have no idea what's your company's policy on stuff like that.

Depending on how much stuff you have on the Mac, few hours is enough to copy everything, how important are these files? What would happen if they got into the wrong hands?

Also check activity monitor and look for anything strange, since you left him alone for hours, he could have installed something malicious, like a keylogger.

3. iMacBooked macrumors 6502a

iMacBooked

4. freshstart14 thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the reply guys.