Security...or lack of when using Ipod Touch

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by dodmath, Oct 7, 2008.

1. dodmath macrumors newbie

Amazon is apparently preparing my order for shipping and I will be recieving my first ever Ipod Touch soon:) I have always had my iMac plugged directly into my DSL modem, which has wireless capability but I have never used it. The airport on my mac detects it as an open wireless port with no security...but I leave airport turned off. How dangerous...security wise...is it to just let the touch link with the open signal of my DSL modem if I am just doing general internet surfing? I was thinking about doing an internet sharing setting through the Imac with WEP security since I found something about that in the settings...but someone talked about trying that in the apple forums and it did not seem to work.

Obviously I am a wireless NOOB and I don't really want to buy a router. I figure I can go the computer if I am going to banking or something that needs to be secure. Thoughts???

2. mzd macrumors 6502a

if your DSL router has wireless, you should use that as opposed to trying to share the connection on your iMac. it is much easier to set up. in fact, leaving everything as is, your iPod will automatically detect your network and be off and running.
    it isn't dangerous per se (using your wireless router), as there aren't any viruses out that would affect an iPod touch. it is a closed platform and won't get hacked. but you are basically sharing your internet right now with anyone who happens to come within range of our wireless router. that is up to you. i would recommend at least adding WPA security on your wireless router and then having your iPod touch connect to that. WPA is both easier to configure than WEP and much more secure.
    or, if you are more philanthropically-minded, leave it wide open as it currently is. :) i'm sure someone is or will be thanking you. ;)

3. dodmath thread starter macrumors newbie