Seek 8 Core Mac Pro Handbrake 0.9.0 Reports

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Multimedia, Oct 2, 2007.

  1. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #1
    I've noticed the all new improved Fully Multithreaded Handbrake 0.9.0 will use all 4 cores of my Quad mac pro for encoding mp4 files to iPod-iPhone-AppleTV compatibility from DVDs & DVD images. Wondering if I could find some of you 8 Core owners to tell us if it uses all 8 cores when run alone to encode one of your DVDs or, if you have EyeTV, to encode a DVD image of an EyeTV recording from Toast 8. Anyone please?

    Please tell us the 2-pass first pass analysis fps speed and the second pass writing fps speed.

    There's no doubt it uses all 4 cores in a Quad G5 as well as a Quad Mac Pro. Really want to know if it also will use all 8 cores in the Octo Mac Pro. Please.

    Thanks in advance for your help.
     
  2. darthraige macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #2
    Yes, I second that motion. Want to know what kind of treat I'm in for when I get rid of this G4. It's a pain waiting 5-10 hours for a DVD to rip.
     
  3. pb468 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    #3
    after the first five minutes, i'm averaging 131.58 fps

    this is ripping a dvd using all the standard settings.

    all 8 cores in use using about 60% per core. firefox is still running.

    edit:

    second pass about 110.03 fps

    all cores maxed out between 95 - 100%
     
  4. Multimedia thread starter macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #4
    Your Numbers Are Way Lower Than I Would Have Expected

    Those low numbers don't make sense if all 8 cores are maxed out. What settings are you using? How much RAM do you have?
     
  5. pb468 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    #5
    5 gigs of ram. i just open up handbrake and put in a dvd and clicked start.
     
  6. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #6
    how about using the iPod preset? the high-res version
     
  7. RichP macrumors 68000

    RichP

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Location:
    Motor City
    #7
    Probably a limitation of the DVD drive speed more than the processing power. I havent seen the application max out my quad core either; usually I get around 300% processing total right off a DVD.
     
  8. irishgrizzly macrumors 65816

    irishgrizzly

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #8
    Maybe try the same test using a DVD image on the HD?
     
  9. pb468 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    #9
    i'm going to do that right now, then i will test the hirez ipod setting.
     
  10. Multimedia thread starter macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #10
    Wasn't Asking About Ripping From DVD Media On An Optical Drive

    Yes I NEVER rip from DVDs - only Images I create with Toast from EyeTV recordings. Ripping from DVDs is not what I was asking for anyone to do. I'm going to start using Make RAM Disk when I get my Harpertown 8 core with 16GB of RAM. Will burn DVD Image and rip mp4 in Handbrake all in a RAM Disk from the applications in a RAM disk. That will be the ultimate speed possible.
     
  11. pb468 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    #11
    there must be something ****ed with my system because i'm not getting above 110 fps today even using a disk image and using the ipod high rez setting.
     
  12. darthraige macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #12
    100% positive Apple is going to Harpertown all 8-Core come November or with Leopard? ... Love bringing up this issue all the time.
     
  13. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #13
    By the time you rip the DVD, make the RAM disk, and all that jazz, you could have just ripped the DVD directly to whatever file you wanted in the first place, and probably in half the time too. Seems like an awful waste of time just to see "300 fps" on that Handbrake app.
     
  14. Multimedia thread starter macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #14
    I Never Rip DVDs MovieCutter

    I don't rip DVDs. I make DVD images from EyeTV recordings and then rip to mp4 with Handbrake. Direct from EyeTV to mp4 encodes look terrible plus they lack the cropping and target size control in Handbrake.
     
  15. Multimedia thread starter macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #15
    Absolute Metaphysical Certainty

    Yes I am. Isn't everyone? Oh it could be January. But who's counting?
     
  16. desenso macrumors 6502a

    desenso

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    #16
    Just out of curiosity Multimedia, what numbers do you average?
     

Share This Page