Seek tips on migrating to Quicken 2017

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Pndrgnsvc, Nov 15, 2016.

  1. Pndrgnsvc macrumors 6502

    Pndrgnsvc

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Location:
    Georgetown, Texas
    #1
    I have Quicken 2011 and AFAIK, it works great. I tried Quicken 2015 but found it unusable.

    I am now willing to give 2017 a go, but before I do, I’m hoping some of the more experienced users can provide a few tips and do’s & don’ts, especially as relates to importing my old 2011 data files.

    I don't (yet) do electronic banking, so that is not an issue. I mainly want all the features of Quicken 2011 in a current Quicken version before I am no longer able to migrate my (old) data.

    All such counsel greatly appreciated.
     
  2. MacGizmo macrumors 6502a

    MacGizmo

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Location:
    Arizona
    #2
    In my experience, Quicken is fairly stable about migrating old data to the new format. But to be safe, I've always made a backup of the database file Quicken creates. I would tell you where that file is located, but it depends on where you've told it to store it (unless you leave it set to the default).
     
  3. Pndrgnsvc thread starter macrumors 6502

    Pndrgnsvc

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Location:
    Georgetown, Texas
    #3
    During the setup of 2017, will I be asked to import data files or need I export the data from my 2011 version to the 2017 version?
     
  4. akwarner macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    #4
    The best course of action here is to make a backup (I would make more than one) and then have at it. If it does not go as expected, restore the backup to exactly where you were before you started. That is how I handle all upgrades.

    I believe the new Quicken will import and that no export is required from the old version. I did this some time back and am not positive but make your back ups and jump in.

    A.
     
  5. Pndrgnsvc thread starter macrumors 6502

    Pndrgnsvc

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Location:
    Georgetown, Texas
    #5
    Thanks all! These tips are most helpful; keep 'em coming.:)
     
  6. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #6
  7. Pndrgnsvc thread starter macrumors 6502

    Pndrgnsvc

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Location:
    Georgetown, Texas
    #7
    On the plus side, migrating my 2007 data files was smooth and without issue.

    OTOH, I am thrashing about trying to get investment analyses, like Gain/Loss, ROI, Amount Invested, etc. and the ability to sort these data (presuming they are even obtainable).

    Are these data just not available or am doing something wrong such that I can’t access it? :(
     
  8. Pndrgnsvc, Nov 16, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2016

    Pndrgnsvc thread starter macrumors 6502

    Pndrgnsvc

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Location:
    Georgetown, Texas
    #8
    Alas, I found the answer on the Intuit site. Gain/Loss, ROI, Amount Invested, etc. is still in the planning stages. As I purchased Q 2017 from Amazon, there is no refund. And the only person I have to blame is moi! :mad:

    P.S. In a subsequent conversation, Amazon advised that even though I purchased the SW from them, Intuit will still honor the 60 day trial period. Amazon then sent me the instructions re requesting the rebate.

    And all is again right with the world.:)
     

Share This Page