Seeking advice, buying "new" Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Reclzz, Jan 11, 2015.

  1. Reclzz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    #1
    Hey everyone

    I'm about to buy a "new" Mac Pro (previous gen.).
    I have two acquaitances who are selling their Mac Pros. Both are Dual CPU, one is 4.1, the other 5.1 and I believe both have the lowest end CPUs.

    Which model is the easiest to change CPU on? Are there any difference?

    My dad has a couple of X5660 I can have if i want them.
    But if it's way too much of a hassle I won't bother with changing them.

    I've been reading and can't seem to figure out which model is the easiest to change CPUs on.
    By pure logic i would go with the 5.1 but if the 4.1 is easier i'm going with that.

    Cheers
    Bo Handskemager Sørensen
     
  2. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #2
    Hello,

    4,1 and 5,1 Macs are essentially the same machine physically. Changing the CPU on single PCU machines is very easy, but it's quite a bit harder on dual-CPU machines. You need to have a delicate hand, add washers and risk killing the board and/or CPU. If you'Ve never done this before, it will be a challenge.

    Have a read here.

    Loa
     
  3. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
    Upgrade CPUs on a dual 5,1 is very straight forward, but on the 4,1 may considered very difficult (if you prefer to use normal lidded CPU).
     
  4. Reclzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    #4
    So the 5.1 will allow me to use lidded CPUs where the 4.1 i have to delid or use washers?
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    Correct ;)
     
  6. Reclzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    #6
    Thank you! I'll go with the 5.1 and change the CPUs. I fix and maintain most of my families computers anyway, so should be breeze!
     
  7. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #7
    Yeah it's pretty straight forward; just your standard Intel LGA processor holder. Same one that is on the quad models that I have worked on many times.

    Also, before you buy it (even though it's a friend) plug it in and go to :apple: >About this Mac... It has to be running 10.9+ for it to work. On 10.9 click "More Info". (Nothing additional needed on 10.10). It should say "Mac Pro" with the model year below it. If it says "Mid 2009" it's a 4,1 upgraded with 5,1 firmware. If it says "Mid-2010" or 2012, it's more then likely a 5,1 (unless they changed what it says) and your good to go.
     
  8. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #8
    Agree, it's very important to find out if it's a real 5,1 or the 2009 flashed 5,1.

    Only the real 5,1 can do the normal dual CPU upgrade.
     

Share This Page