Seeking Advice for Raid Purchase

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by jkaz, Dec 1, 2009.

  1. jkaz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Upper Mid West
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm looking for advice on purchasing a RAID for a new Mac Pro for the purpose of editing video.

    It's been a while since I've shopped for this so any tips or advice is appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Jeff
     
  2. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    What's your budget, what do hope to get out of a RAID and what codecs will you be editing with?


    Lethal
     
  3. jkaz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Upper Mid West
    #3
    Budget: somewhere in the middle

    Using an AJA Kona-LHe Capture Card, any codecs that
    would come with that. Would be editing off of the RAID.
     
  4. jkaz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Upper Mid West
    #4
    is there a general standard brand for RAID's that FCP users generally use?
     
  5. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #5
    "in the middle" isn't really helpful as a budget... do you have an actual $ figure?

    with the LHe you can edit pretty much any format you want... if you want a RAID that will support uncompressed HD, then it's going to cost more than one strictly for ProRes workflows.

    you also need to think about what the goal of the RAID is... speed and/or fault tolerance
     
  6. anthemus macrumors regular

    anthemus

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Location:
    Denver
    #6
  7. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #7
    does that box have in internal raid card?

    anthemus, does that box contain the RAID card that will deal with the info?
    I am running my mac pro with two 500 gig drives using apples software raid. would I get any better with this box?
     
  8. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #8
    here is what I get on xbench with the current RAID 0 setup I have using the software raid:

    Results 114.04
    System Info
    Xbench Version 1.3
    System Version 10.5.8 (9L30)
    Physical RAM 8192 MB
    Model MacPro3,1
    Drive Type fast
    Disk Test 114.04
    Sequential 217.72
    Uncached Write 244.47 150.10 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    Uncached Write 236.06 133.56 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    Uncached Read 141.01 41.27 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    Uncached Read 338.53 170.14 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    Random 77.25
    Uncached Write 28.75 3.04 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    Uncached Write 396.73 127.01 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    Uncached Read 118.41 0.84 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    Uncached Read 165.96 30.79 MB/sec [256K blocks]
     
  9. anthemus macrumors regular

    anthemus

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Location:
    Denver
    #9
    There is a hardware raid inside of the external case. The case handles the raid functions. They will ship it pre-configured for your type of raid.

    Your internal software raid would be faster than the firewire ports. However the esata would give it a run for the money and could get you better performance. But then you will need an esata card...
     
  10. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #10
    I do have an e-sata card. but Unless the performance bump was drastic, I don't see much point of spending that kind of coin.
     

Share This Page