iPad mini Seeking advice on purchasing an iPad Mini w/ Retina

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Heart Break Kid, Apr 4, 2014.

1. Heart Break Kid macrumors 6502a

Hello,
    I was hoping I could get some advice on a potential purchase. I am currently a physician that uses his iPad 3 daily in the hospital setting. I use dozens of apps to help augment patient care, access medical records, educate and interact with other health care providers. However my 16gb iPad3 has hit a brick wall with regards to storage. Im considering purchasing a new iPad with larger storage capabilities i.e. 128gb drive.

That said, I've been seriously looking at the iPad Mini w/ Retina display. The compact size makes it an ideal candidate for me given the limited space of my whitecoat.

a) will I notice any significant performance improvement with the iPad Mini w/ Retina compared to my old full screen iPad3 ?
    b) is there an update expected in the next 3 months? (I can likely wait until that time before the need to upgrade becomes a must)
    c) does anyone have any experience with the slim keyboard attachments? what is your opinion on them?

Thank you for any help you can provide

2. Rodster macrumors 68040

a) The rMini is far superior to the iPad 3 hardware wise

b) No, announcements expected until fall unless Apple pulls a surprise. So the rMini 2 should get released later this year.

c) No advice there.

You might also consider the iPad Air it's not as big as you think. Apple did a nice job slimming it down and it's really light.

3. Heart Break Kid thread starter macrumors 6502a

Thanks for the prompt reply. Ive played around with a colleagues iPad Air and have to say that its a beautiful machine. That said, when i see how easily so many folks at my hospital use their rMini, Im kind of envious of that form factor. As long as all my applications scale appropriately, I think Ill be sticking with the kid brother of the Air :)

4. DaCurmudgen macrumors regular