Seeking calculator opinions from accounting/financial pros....

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Surely, Aug 6, 2009.

1. Surely Guest

Surely

I'm currently studying accounting and plan to sit for the CPA examinations in the spring. I figured that now would be a good time to get a proper accounting/financial calculator so that I will be a pro at using it by the time I have to take those serious exams.

I am trying to decide between:

• The Texas Instruments BA II Plus Professional Financial Calculator
    and

• The HP 12C Platinum Financial Calculator

I'm leaning towards the TI, mainly because the reviews on Amazon are just as good as the HP reviews, and the price is almost half. Price isn't really an issue, but for the record, the TI is $35 and the HP is $65 on Amazon.

I was hoping for some opinions from users. Thanks!

2. rhsgolfer33 macrumors 6502a

My recommendation would be the TI (though there are plenty of others who swear by the HP models). I've used the TI you're considering for the last two years (required in my managerial accounting, cost accounting, and finance courses) and like it just fine. Its certainly not as intuitive as the TI 83's finance application since the 83 has a larger screen to work with, but once you get used to using the BAII, it is pretty simple.

I also purchased mine via Amazon, great price.

In reality I think you'll do fine with either, they're both good calculators and I know people that use both models. I pretty much went with the BAII because it looked nicer, had really good reviews, and was $30 cheaper.

3. Surely thread starter Guest

Surely

Thanks for the advice.

I remembered from some other threads that there was a forum member that was studying accounting as well.... couldn't remember your username though.

I'm going to go to Staples this afternoon to see if they have a test model of each so I can at least get a hands-on tryout before I buy.

Anyone else have any advice?

4. Boneoh macrumors 6502

Boneoh